Dance in the Diva Moonlight

“If you run into a wall, don’t turn around and give up; figure out how to climb it, go through it or work around it.”~Michael Jordan, American athlete

Inspiring words on what I found to be an…interesting…Zentangle challenge. The Diva’s Challenge #158 is to create a duotangle using Crescent Moon and Diva Dance. Both tangles are delightful on their own, but they are similar in style. Too similar for my taste.

20140313-100241.jpg

Duo Diva Moon

I would never have thought to use these two together because of their similarity. I like to use contrasting tangles: light/dark, straight/curved, open/detailed. These two are too similar to distinguish where one starts and another ends. Now, I like to have tangles flow into each other, but I prefer the challenge of making a grid flow into circles. That’s a challenge.

So is using two strikingly similar tangles.

I achieved some of the contrast I like, but I am glad I used an ATC I painted with red and yellow watercolor pencils. The red gives it the pop I was looking for. Still, it feels like I was “cheating” by being un-creative enough to find a variety of tangles to use. Yet that is the challenge: to make a way.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LonettA
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 02:32:35

    Beautiful ATC on the coloured background!

    Reply

  2. Annemarie
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 02:49:53

    I do like the way you found!!!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

