Spiral up, spiral down, spiral all around

“A circle is the reflection of eternity; it has no beginning and it has no end. If you put several circles over each other, then you get a spiral.”~Maynard Keenan, American musician

Today started as a spiral downward: my Mega Meet I {Heart} Zentangle card class registration is not living up to its potential. Heck, it’s not living up to any potential, and I am feeling down-dooby-doo-down-down about that. I know it has nothing to do with me as an instructor, but it’s hard not to take it personally. As such, there is still time and room to sign up for the awesome-super-cool project-based Zentangle class! Register here!

20140328-110213.jpg

At the end of the day, things changed. I received this email from the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW). Two of my entries into NFPW’s annual Communications Contest move onto Nationals. I’m pretty psyched about that, something I’ll focus on later in the week. I’m too dizzy with happiness.

So the Diva Challenge #160 was perfect reflection of that upward-downward spiral I was going through: tangle spirals. Of course, the Zentangle tangle Marasu came to mind instantly because it is spiraly, but that’s too easy. I randomly pulled out a tile and grabbed a pre-strung one. Not at all what I’d expect, but with three different sections, I intended to approach each one differently.

Best intentions and all.
20140328-132251.jpg

I drew spirals then filled them with non-traditional tangles: Knightsbridge, Paradox and Knase. The Pokeleaf spiral created freehand is my favorite part of this tile. It did what I wanted it to do…whatever that was.

I filled out the edges, smoothed things around, and my Zentangle is complete. That’s a good feeling.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 18:16:28

    Your tile is very beautiful. I like the tangles you used.

    Reply

  2. LonettA
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 07:14:22

    Very lovely tile! Fine contrast!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

