I’m a winner! Again!

“If you don’t see yourself as a winner then you can’t perform as a winner.”~Zig Ziglar, American writer

I’m a winner!

Again!

In case you missed this post, I won another NFPW Communications Contest.

All three of my entries in the contest won at the At-Large level, a category of NFPW members who live in a state without a direct affiliate. My first place entries now move onto Nationals, where they compete with every other state’s first place winners.

I have won at the state/At-Large level in the past, and a part of me expected to win again. The difference this year is that I entered in a new category.

For the second year in a row, you are reading an award-winning blog. Last year, I won first place, so I’m a bit disappointed in my second place finish. I’m not surprised; my blog posts have not been up to the caliber as I have done or am capable of writing. I didn’t realize it, but I had fallen into a bit of a funk. At least my posts had. But I now have a re-energized approach thanks to the challenge set forth by the site Overcoming Bloggers Block, managed by Marcie Hill, a Chicago-based writer. Her book, 62 Blog Posts to Overcome Blogger’s Block, is the inspiration for this challenge. The ideas within reminded me of the cool topics I have explored but haven’t revisited in some time. Combined with the tips from a seminar given by artist Julie Fei-Fan Balzer, this blog is gonna be even more super-awesome.

I know, that’s hard to believe, but trust me on this.

My articles in Michigan Scrapbooker Magazine are always a delight, says my editor. If her opinion may be biased, I’m all for it. I write the columns Journey to Journaling and Mini Albums, two of my passions. Click on the digital issue there to read my latest work, or click on my “Writing” tab above.

My first place eBook!

My first place eBook!

What I am super-psyched about is my book! Yes, I am making a big deal about the first book I wrote and published, but it’s the first book I WROTE AND PUBLISHED! It was a fun little 8-hour challenge, but really, how cool is that? It’s a novella memoir that would never have found an audience with a Big Publishing House, but little ol’ me did this all myself. And it won! I’m very curious to see how it performs at the national level. It’s exciting! It’s only $.99, so check out what all the fuss is about.

I know, a lot of exclamation points in this post. I do not believe in overuse of exclamation points, but here I don’t believe they are overused. Nope, I’m allowing myself the splurge.

The national winners are announced in late May/June, so come back then for the hopefully-great results.

Care to share your thoughts?

