April showers bring poetic flowers

Personality is everything in art and poetry.”~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, German poet

Welcome to National Poetry Month.

I have dabbled in poetry, and I consider myself a poet. I write stories, I create Zentangle and other art, and I can write poetry.

20140407-115056.jpg

Therefore, I am an writer, artist and poet. Pretty cool resumè, if I do say so myself. And I just did. Well, I typed it, but I digress….

Poetry is fun, but it intimidates me. Often those I consider “true” poets string together deep and intense emotions into long and winding, sometimes confusing, paragraphs. I don’t get it, and just like any story or art, I want to get it, or at least something meaningful or fun from it.

There are a number of sites that would provide me daily practice outlets, especially this month. April is like NaNoWriMo for poets. The poetry I like is whimsical, carefree and short. My favorite: haiku.

20140407-125435.jpg

My love of haiku solidified years ago when I traveled with my friend to a book expo in New York City. One book featured a sampling of haikus written on postcards that were mailed among a group of friends. Snippets of Life and funstuff in mailboxes; we took to the joy of this immediately. With daily postage being cost-prohibitive to us, we emailed a haiku to each other everyday. We did send postcards on weekends.

She and I continue this, but with sporadic regularity these days. I unearthed a pile of old postcards from a vintage store for just $5/bag sale. I snatched every single one of them, and I do my best to mail one each day, postage costs be darned. Sometimes postcards are from a travel location I’m currently at, but most often they are random delights of weirdness.

20140407-115043.jpg

Our poetry tends to be more relaxed, more senryu than haiku, although we do keep the 5-7-5 form.

I have discovered an iPhone app, Heyku, that allows anyone to post haiku-esque poetry, adding photos, drawings or sound to each poem. I have no idea how large the community is, but my poetry has been well-received. If you’re on the site, you will find me at d.w.Hirsch writing in the haiku format regardless the subject of my poem. I post a lot of those on Instagram, adding special filters to make my haiku just a bit more hip and trendy. Seriously, I am proud of my work, no matter how whimsical and casual it is.

I’m having fun with
poetry, words. All the same
yet subtle difference.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

