Do CBS and Zentangle mix?

“Once you replace negative thoughts with positive ones, you’ll start having positive results.”~Willie Nelson, American musician

A project was suggested in the Zentangle community: encourage CBS Sunday Morning News to feature a segment on Zentangle. CZTs were encouraged to write a brief note about their personal exploration of the art form and to include a tile as an example of what Zentangle is.

All entries were supposed to be mailed April 1. No surprise I sent mine in late, as I’ve been like that in recent weeks. Still, I was pleased to finish it and to be a part of it all.

I created a black tile monotangle of Paradox, a classic design I’ve done on previous tiles. Simple yet elegant.

20140410-172232.jpg

Mailing the package in a decorated square envelope was the final touch to complete the intrigue. I used my brand new scrapbook envelope maker to create my bright yellow cardstock mailer. I tangled Pokeleaf in 3D glaze gel pens, finishing it off with black micron.

What did I write? My letter is below. I hope it makes an impact with CBS.

When was the last time you wrote a letter?

Not a text or an email, but a real letter using pen and paper, one that is placed inside an envelope with a postage stamp on the outside?

Like this one?

In today’s tech savvy world, we have lost such interpersonal relationships. Z re-introduces a tangible connection and gives each of us a physical product–a tile we created–to remind us of that discovery. It’s a letter to ourselves.

Z started off as just a word I had to research for a magazine article. Searching online, I discovered stunning artwork that deeply intimidated me. I could never be that talented to create anything so detailed and impressive. Despite that, I wanted to explore this artform beyond my written article. When I signed up for the certification workshop, I approached it as a weekend art retreat. I did not expect to leave there with a desire to share Z with others.

I never taught any type of class before, but since May 2011, I’ve had the courage to stand in the front of a room and teach children and adults, men and women, everyone from scrapbookers to librarians to physical therapists. I inspired one woman to tangle on her white car with a black paint pen. I discovered new art supplies to express my creativity and play. I inspired two other students to become Certified Z Teachers as well.

Who knew I could do all that? Z has not given me one overwhelming thing but a lot of little special moments. Stopping to recognize and appreciate those small things is the core of Z.

People are surprised by what they can do and achieve, just like I did when I first discovered this relaxing artform. It is a personal journey beneficial for everyone and that’s why I encourage you to feature Z on your show. You take away from Z whatever it is that you need, and that is something appealing to everyone, including your audience.

“Are you an artist?” I ask at the start of my classes. Most people shake their heads or frown or roll their eyes. Within an hour, smiles light up my students’ faces and their eyes are wide from surprise and pride.

“When you started class, you did not think you were an artist,” I say. “What else can’t you do?”

Sincerely,

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Samantha Wunderlich, CTRS, CBIS, CZT
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 22:15:22

    LOVE paradox as a monotangle. I have not tried it on black, now I must! Beautiful letter. I didn’t get around to sending one, so late was still way ahead of some of us.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

