On Zentangle, poetry and napping

“Positive anything is better than negative nothing.”~Elbert Hubbard, American writer

It’s a long drive from Philadelphia to Michigan. A long drive. No matter how fast or pokey we are, it always takes 12 hours. I have been a zombie today.

20140407-115322.jpg

A favorite ATC from Zentangle swap

It has been awhile since I worked on artist trading cards. A nudge in the creative direction was a CZT-sponsored swap. The challenge was to create a deck of 52 ATCs, similar to a complete deck of playing cards. We send them into the host, she mixes them up and swaps them with others, and in a few weeks we get each get a unique deck to show off and treasure.

How could I resist?

There was no theme, no rules, other than Zentangle had to be used somehow somewhere on the cards. Some cards I have seen posted on the Facebook page have been done with lace. Some created a large Zentangle Inspired Art in color or black and white, and then cut that down to ATC-sized cards.

20140407-115731.jpg

Fun with Sharpie and paint

In an unexpected and unplanned nod to April’s National Poetry Month–the time we should receive our cards–I chose the theme of Found Poetry. What is that? The concept is to create poetry, however you perceive it, from existing text. You find words and phrases on a page of some book and connect them into a poem or a deep thought or just something fun.

Since I dabble in media and adore authentic items, I had a plethora of material to choose from. I used pages textbooks, Michigan Scrapbooker Magazine, recipe books, movie guides, novels and more.

20140420-233221.jpg

My Rixty

Continuing the Zentangle theme is my contribution to Diva’s Weekly Zentangle Challenge #163. This week was to use the new official tangle Rixty named in honor of cofounder Rick’s 60th birthday. Happy Birthday, Rick. Happy tangling everyone. And happy napping to me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 01:00:26

    I like your tile a lot. It’s beautiful with the open spaces.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

