Hey, Zentangle and poetry go together!

“Happiness often sneaks in through a door you didn’t know you left open.”~John Barrymore, American actor

I seem to be focusing on Poetry Month more than I expected. No one else on my Writers Group blog, Deadwood Writer Voices, discussed poetry, so I did in my recent post. You don’t have to be a deep, serious writer to enjoy the blog. If you like playing with words or enjoy reading, you may find interesting perspectives over there. Potty Mouth by Vicky is quickly becoming my favorite post.

20140407-121046.jpg

A tangled Heyku haiku

I continue having fun with the smartphone app Heyku, something that started before April and will continue long past this month. There is an amazing group of writers and artists weaving words into images. The app community, ironically or not, just celebrated its One Year Anniversary last week, and suggestions for naming the swan are ongoing as of this post. One delightful new feature is the option to add “doodles” to your poem. I have introduced some people to Zentangle, which is even more delight-full.

I share most of them on Instagram, so I invite you to join me at dwhirsch for the latest and greatest. There’s some random images thrown in occasionally, so don’t miss the fun.

20140407-115228.jpg

A Beauty-full haiku

The haiku to the right, “Beauty,” is how I often think of my Zentangle art. A lot of people do, I’ve discovered; self-conscious of their work when comparing to others. Yet our work is beautiful, a self-expression, and we allow our inner editors to overly critique our artwork. There is no need for that, which is easier said than done.

I feel restless about my contribution to this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #164 is all about Mother Earth. I wanted to achieve soft poetry in my image, but it does not flow as seamless and smooth as my mind’s eye had hoped for.

20140421-233417.jpg

Diva 164: Earth Day 2014

I did not listen to my instincts to create a Zendala; instead, I created a Zentangle garden with earthy tangles. I wanted to use my Inktense pencils, but I need more practice with them. The tile turned out darker and sloppier than I wanted, which was disappointing. Trying to grab some beauty from it, I see a tropical rainforest in the muddle. I like that perspective, yet I may do that Zendala later in the week. I’m not a true fan of Zendalas, but that project excites me.

Always listen to your heart, those immediate thoughts, and when you do, beauty will flow.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly (whimsybykelly)
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 12:59:36

    I like your tile for the earth day challenge! I’m going to find you on instagram RIGHT now!

    Reply

  2. dwhirsch
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 15:13:59

    Thank you, Kelly. That is so cool! I’ll be looking for you.

    Reply

  3. Annemarie
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 02:47:07

    The last words of your post are so very, very true!
    I like your tile a lot.

    Reply

  4. sheryl kay oder
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 14:36:41

    If you have enough time, you might want to join the group in Poetic Asides for its Poem A Day this April. There is no reason you could not use your haiku poetry, except on those days Robert assigns another form.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

