Earth Day in a Zendala

“Only do what your heart tells you.”~Princess Diana, British royalty

I did it. I gave in. I had to do it: an Earth Day Zendala. On Earth Day. Woot!

I’m not “into” Earth Day as a new movement because I have always recycled and find it hard not to do so. My college roomie and I kept a cardboard box under our dorm frig to collect bottles and aluminum cans in. When I lived in Delaware years ago, my area did not have mandatory curbside recycling. My husband and I kept two separate trashcans in the kitchen for recycling cans, glass and paper. We physically hauled them to a community wide recycling center, an out-of-the-way drive for us. It took extra time and space to do this, but could not not do this.

20140424-205631.jpg

Earth Day Zendala celebration

Living in Michigan, we get a deposit return for aluminum cans, so recycling here is a vicious, mouth chomping novelty. We get grocery store paper bags when possible to save our paper scraps in, recycling them at the local school for them to earn money based on the weight collected. If we go shopping and forget our canvas/reusable bags, we return all plastic bags to the recycle bin at store. Old batteries present the largest challenge, but we have a zipper baggie full of them when we find a bin.

I’m enough into Earth Day to complete another Zentangle, this time a Zendala, following my gut instinct from the other day to represent the circle of Earth. I finished the tile with Derwent colored pencils to have more control, and the result is a lighter, happier version of my first one. I’m pleased.

Happy Earth Day…today and every day.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donald W
    Apr 25, 2014 @ 21:18:17

    Like the colors that you chose for your zendala. Your cubine is kind of mesmerizing.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 02, 2014 @ 20:50:35

      Thank you. I had this image to extend it over the entire piece like a canvas, and I’m pleased that my intention worked.

      Reply

  2. Annemarie
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 02:12:58

    I think we (sort of) do the same with our recycling. Funny, you in USA and I in the Netherlands :-)
    Your zendala is really beautiful!

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 02, 2014 @ 20:52:55

      Thank you, thank you! It’s odd how recycling differs even from US to Canada–the Starbucks stores there, for example, recycle the plastic cup, the cardboard sleeves, and glass bottles all IN-STORE. sighhhhhh!

      Reply

  3. Karen
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 18:10:04

    We recycle here too! It’s Roy boys job to take it all to the recylying center and I agree batteries are the hardest and one of the most important to recycle!! I love your work this week and how you worked the colors in thanks so much for sharing it with us!

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 02, 2014 @ 20:54:15

      Thank you, Karen, for all your comments. My husband loves it when I use colors, so I do dabble in them more and more.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

