Hey…Zentangle and haiku, together again

“The world is full of magical things patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper.”~Bertrand Russell, British philosopher

What a great way to wrap up National Poetry Month: my haiku was featured by the Editor’s Desk on the app Heyku. It was also posted on their Facebook page. They loved the artwork.

20140428-225839.jpg

The Blue Swan of fame

The haiku itself is sad and frustrating: unsold-out Zentangle classes at MegaMeet next week. But without that tortured pain and suffering, I would never had be inspired to write the poem and to show off the beauty of Zentangle and what all these scrapbooking artists will be missing. *deep sigh…eyes closed…tosses head back, arm drapes limp on forehead*

I know, how could it get any better? I played around with photo effects through some app editing programs, and you can see a vibrant interpretation on Instagram.

I’m not as active on Facebook as I am on other social media sites, so 14 more minutes left there.

As far as fame goes, this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge 165 showcases the tangle of another Zentangle enthusiast. “Camelia” by Anne Marks is introduced this month, a tangle inspired by flowers in nature.

20140428-225814.jpg

I see different things than that in it, but perhaps that’s my vision how I drew it. I’m also not a gardener, so I couldn’t tell you the difference between a daisy or an amaryllis or Calla lily.

All of which has no impact on my delight when I receive a bouquet of flowers from my husband. Nope, not at all.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donald W
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 15:28:29

    Like your Illustration for hour haiku. Nice job on your tile with Camelia.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 02, 2014 @ 20:57:33

      I am quite proud of my poetry. Haikus are fun, but drawing on that app using a stylus on the iPhone…that’s the challenge. It’s received a lot of recognition, and I am so pleased by that!

      Reply

  2. Jean Chaney
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 17:10:37

    I’m liking Camelia more and more as I see what people have done with it. Yours is really nice and I love the Mooka growing out of it. Ah, the tragedy of unsold out classes :(

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 02, 2014 @ 21:02:01

      Yes, tragedy indeed–*deeper sighhhh*–but my husband gave me some suggestions to finding out why while I am there. Good perspectives from him, making me feel better. It’s all a learning. And Mooka growing out of anything delights me. :)

      Reply

  3. Gloria Zucaro
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 19:51:12

    This really flows nicely and with good balance .

    Reply

  4. Annemarie
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17:05

    I like this, I love the movement in it.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 02, 2014 @ 21:04:21

      Camelia was tricky for me at first, but it is a tangle that is so easy to “fix” and make tangleations from. Thanks for your compliments.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

