Drink some coffee, tangle some Zen, nap

“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.”~Albert Einstein, German physicist

It’s 10am and I’m in a coffee shop on the campus side of Ann Arbor. Espresso Royale is my hangout caffeine of choice whenever I’m here waiting for my car to be repaired. I discovered a new roast, Sombrio, that is smooth enough for a second cup. Of course, the repair is going to take a few hours, so that second cup is practically mandatory.

20140505-122023.jpg

The store’s motto: “Helping you pretend to study.” Or to nap

There are tables and chairs here for working, but there are also couches for casual relaxation. It’s about 10am, and there are four guys sleeping there. One is under a blanket; it is chilly in here, so good foresight there. Another is snoring, and I can hear him from across the room. Seriously. I’m used to panhandlers here next to campus, but if they’re homeless folks looking for shelter, it’s probably warmer outside.

Hours-long car repair = great tangling time. The Diva’s weekly Zentangle Challenge #166 is another Use My Tangle (UMT), this one of a personal nature: it’s the Diva’s very own creation.

20140505-123328.jpg

Diva #166 and coffee: the perfect blend

Starting with Laura’s new as-yet-unnamed tangle, I created circles of varying sizes randomly splattered, as per her suggestions. I had to catch myself to stop while the lines were straight and not bowing out. I’ve been in a Mooka mood for weeks now, so I had to add it in. Knase is one of the CZT-exclusive tangles I’ll be teaching at my Mega Meet this week (still spaces available; check out my class description, I {Heart} Zentangle) And Ahh is such an underused tangled, it makes me smile, so here it is.

Now it’s raining. Definitely time for that second cup.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    May 05, 2014 @ 13:44:30

    Sounds like a great day- except for the car repair part.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 05, 2014 @ 15:03:02

      Oh indeed. Lunch now at babo, a gem great fresh food/organic/homemade market. Loose leaf tea. Yeah, except for the car repair, it’s a good start to the week.

      Reply

  2. Bonnie McLain
    May 05, 2014 @ 14:48:36

    Funny…. I wanted to do mooka too… but didnt’ have enough room!!!! Oh well.. Love your tangle… Love, Light and Peace…Bonnie

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      May 05, 2014 @ 15:05:00

      Thanks. I’m heading over to see your Zentangle. Sometimes Mooka just has to come first (second). :)

      Reply

  3. Beewatch
    May 06, 2014 @ 09:08:51

    I like your story about the sleeping guys in the coffeshop. That would be impossible here in Switzerland. But they do no harm sleeping, so let them be.
    I like your mooka and your tile. I’m also exercising mooka and have now finished a Zia, There ‘s only the shading to do then I will post it.

    Reply

  4. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    May 06, 2014 @ 09:32:31

    Nice selection of tangles you used. The coffee shop looks like a nice place! Nothing better that java and tangles. :)

    Reply

  5. simon bushby
    May 06, 2014 @ 17:25:12

    I lIKe very much lively

    Reply

  6. Jacque Solomon
    May 06, 2014 @ 18:05:40

    Glad you enjoyed yourself while waiting for the car to be repaired. Your tile is really nice and the Ahh pattern adds a bit of sparkle! Who doesn’t like to sparkle?

    Happy tangling,

    Jacque Solomon
    http://www.tanglebright.com

    Reply

  7. Shelly Beauch
    May 06, 2014 @ 20:44:21

    Great blend of tangles too!

    Reply

  8. Annemarie
    May 07, 2014 @ 01:51:24

    Ahh is great here, makes the tile more playful.

    Reply

  9. karen woodbine
    May 07, 2014 @ 08:02:38

    Nice combination of tangles. Great way to way for the car repair.

    Reply

  10. LonettA
    May 07, 2014 @ 15:02:40

    Very lovely tile! I like your Mooka!

    Reply

  11. Donald W
    May 07, 2014 @ 18:50:17

    Tangling is always a great way to fill the time while waiting. Nice combination of tangles.

    Reply

  12. Kelly (whimsybykelly)
    May 08, 2014 @ 18:41:05

    Nice. I love when I can be creative while filing in time! Very pretty

    Reply

  13. dwhirsch
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 14:08:58

    Yes, indeed, passing the time by being creative is a fabulous way to spend a day.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

