Mega Meet 2014, Day 2: Tangled up in friends

“Life is the art of drawing without an eraser.”~John W. Gardner, American educator

Yes, this is a totally Zentangle-y quote, almost a bit cheesy, but it’s always worth the reminder. Especially with Zentangle classes.

20140510-015841.jpg

Friday’s Zentangle class. My students got heart.

The first day, yesterday, is always the freshest. Things are new and exciting, even the last-minute configuration of my classroom. Today was an exhausting day: two morning classes, and afternoon meet-n-greet at the Michigan Scrapbooker table for writers and designers, followed by teaching my class, shopping and finally cropping until midnight. I was tired. My Zentangle class may not have been the best, but it was still good. I was on a caffeine I.V. since the morning, so here’s to that. And to chocolate.

20140509-235607.jpg

Vamping it up the Photo Op with my editor, Carrie, from Michigan Scrapbooker Magazine

The grunge class was by far the best class I’ve had here since Tim Holtz taught. Cheryl led us on an adventure of mixed media using lace, Silks acrylic glaze paint, matte medium and gesso. Class was a use of those techniques to collage the inside of our large to-be-filled-later art journal. Cheryl was open enough to let us take photos of her art journals for inspiration. Awesome creativity all around.

And I was interviewed in that class! Maybe I was the teacher’s pet, or maybe I was just fortunate because I was last to clean up. I’ll post a link as soon as I find it. My husband’s taping it: 10pm on Channel 20 in Detroit on WMYD.
.

20140509-235628.jpg

CZT Guys Snufflet and Catnap demo today’s Zentangle heart card class.

Just as I’m setting up for my Zentangle class, a woman walks up to me and says, “Are you Diana Hirsch?” Yes, I am. “We miss you in the Bizarre Holidays, ScrapPea.” Oh my gosh–a member from the ATC site I have been absent from since November 2013 when NaNoWriMo took over my life! How cool is that?! It’s too cool for words, so I won’t even try here.

I won a raffle prize, a free necklace charm from a booth I planned to shop at later. Sweet.

20140509-235541.jpg

And then cropping. I finished my MegaMeet mini album from yesterday’s class, and my friend Bev printed pictures from her portable photo printer. Vendors show up to sell product at the crop at sale prices. This haul represents a part of my purchases from the vendors selling at Friday nights crop party. The showroom floor…that’s another matter.

And finally …sleep…for the few hours I have.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

