It’s Raining neon Zentangles

“What art offers is space – a certain breathing room for the spirit.”~John Updike, American writer

I have finally set up a series of Zentangle classes at my local Hobby Lobby craft store. It’s similar to my previous class series, but I hope to attract a new audience here. Check out the class schedule here. Class specifics are on this site under the “Classes” tab above. Come out to Canton and have some tangling fun!

When I was there finalizing details, I bought a set of neon Sharpies. I was disappointed they did not write on black paper–which was the reason I bought them–so I pulled out an art journal and played with them on white paper.

20140524-111736.jpg

Wow! These colors electrocuted my eyes more than I had imagined! I am lovin’ the look of them. I own a blacklight for just this Zentangle reason; years ago, I discovered Irojiten colored pencils. Some colors are fluorescent. I was hooked.

I wanted to have fun with this week’s challenge which is using one of my favorite tangles, Rain, so here’s what I did for this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #168.
.
It is a nice contribution, but then I wanted something more traditional, so I went with bold white-silver-gold on a black tile.

20140524-111722.jpg

It didn’t pop the way I’d hoped for. Maybe I had preconceptions based on the neon one. Maybe because I wanted to use Rain as a string. When I fall back on an old standard and don’t play with new or less-used tangles, I feel as if I’m not exploring my potential. But part of Zentangle is having fun, and Rain is fun for me.

What I do like about all this is the reminder that you can take a favorite tangle (or friend/spouse) and explore all it (he/she) has to offer. There’s nothing wrong with play.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heatherdpear
    May 26, 2014 @ 13:23:15

    Wow, love those neon colours. Must get myself some of those pens. Very nice interpretation of Rain.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 05, 2014 @ 13:58:32

      Rain is one of my fave tangles, so it was fun to play with. The neon/fluorescent pens are so incredibly psychedelic and yet challenging to use…gosh, how can you NOT have fun with them!?!

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

