Sound the Zentangle trumpets for Bugles

“We shape our buildings; thereafter they shape us.”~Winston Churchill, English statesman

My thoughts on beginning this week’s Diva challenge? It’s the first Monday of the month, so Zentangle Challenge #170 is a UMT (“Use my tangle”) discovering a potentially new tangle by a Zentangle enthusiast. This month’s UMT tangle is Bugles by Joyce Evans.

20140604-141237.jpg

Diva #170: bulging bits of Bugles

My challenge in this? I followed a suggestion to leave plenty of space between the jellybean shapes, but I feel like I left too much space, making my bugles extra-long. Coloring those in turned them into U-shaped magnets. I worked within triangular strings, so I did not have a clean edge at the “top” of the tangle. How to remedy the incomplete feeling? I chose tangles that defined and flowed: Tagh and Kathy’s Dilemma.  Squid is just fun.

My thoughts after the challenge? Drawing in sepia and shading in brown added a smooth touch, but I think creating this tile in black would have made it pop more. I wonder if color would be exciting? I’m sure one of the challenge participants have done that. Going to check it out, not for comparison–I have a beautiful tile!–but for inspiration.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tinkered Art
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 22:40:57

    Yes, it is a beautiful tile, really like your choice of tangles nice compliment to bugles.

    Reply

  2. Jean Chaney
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 13:51:59

    Nice work. You were able to achieve a balance with the other tangles you chose.

    Reply

  3. dwhirsch
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 13:55:04

    Thank you. I was concerned that the tangles wouldn’t mesh, but the more I look at it, the more I like it. A bit angular, and that’s okay.

    Reply

  4. Katie C
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 19:29:54

    I agree with Jean about the balance. There’s a nice balance of contrast as well as organic vs. structured. And I like looking at it! Beautiful work.

    Reply

  5. Joyce Evans
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 10:35:44

    Thank you for using my tangle, Bugles. I like how you blended them into the other tangles. A great idea.

    Reply

  6. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 11:16:21

    Love the tangle choices you made to go with the bugles. Nice!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

