A letter and eBook to my dad on Fathers Day

“To a father growing old, nothing is dearer than a daughter.”~Euripides, Greek poet

“My father gave me the greatest gift anyone could give another person, he believed in me.”~Jim Valvano, American basketball coach

It’s a double Words of Wisdom day today. Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there.

My father will not be reading this post, or any other post I write. If he wasn’t dead, Dad didn’t own a computer. Besides, his sight was declining with some form of Macular Degeneration.

Dad preferred old-fashioned communication anyway. He called people on the phone. He wrote letters sent in the mail. I know, he was a fighting dinosaur.

LessonsFromDad-thumbnail

My ongoing novel about our relationship is in editing stages (so far; who knows what new elements will be discovered). In honor of Father’s Day, I snagged some of the best moments from the book and self published them on Amazon as an eBook. It’s a short story, somewhere around 21 page. Here’s the link to: Lessons from Dad: A Letter to You. It’s the kind of letter every dad wants to read from his children, knowing the impact he made on their lives. It’s the letter that every child should write to their father while he is still around to know the impact he made on their lives. My dad knew; I told him every day without this letter.

Currently, this book is not supported on other formats. If you want to read it on another device, get the Kindle reading app for your computer, tablet or smartphone. It’s free, and my books are worth the download!

To whet your appetite for some good parent-child love and respect, here is a sample from the book:
.

When the letters began, that’s when we really became close.

Mail was important to you back in your army days because letters were your only connections to home. You kept that connection between us by writing a letter to me every morning before breakfast. I don’t know who benefitted more from them, me or you. You told me about the weather, any exciting bus rides and updates on Mom’s at-home job. You tucked any newspaper clippings about Penn State or my high school you found in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette or Pittsburgh Press inside the envelope. Then there was the money. You mailed me quarters taped to thin cardboard so I could buy laundry tokens without worrying about changing a paper bill to coins.

And when you thought my friends got jealous of all the mail I received, you sent letters and cards to them as well.

20140618-133759-49079116.jpg

My senior prom: love those 80s fashions

.
If you read the book, I ask that you leave a review. Good or bad, it helps me become a better writer.

And I have a lot more stories to release into the world. Dad would probably say, “Go get’em!” and that’s what I plan to do.

If you have a strong father figure in your life, give him a hug today. And tomorrow. And the following day. And the following….

He deserves that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sheryl kay oder
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 14:57:21

    It was my dear Granddaddy whose letters I treasured. He encouraged me in growing faith in the Lord and at times sent me books he thought I would like.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

