To be, Auraknot to be

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors and doing new things because we’re curious, and curiosity keeps leading is down new paths.”~Walt Disney, American cartoonist

This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge 172 is another duotangle, this time using Auraknot and Mooka. Anyone who has seen my work knows I love Mooka: it’s impressive and is a quick tangle to complete. Auraknot was more the challenge.

Diva172-3

Love that glitter

I completed my tile at my Tangled Tuesday Lunch at Hobby Lobby in Canton. This week’s project was to use glitter gel pens to create tangles. I was in a purple mood, so I paired it with black and did each tangle in a different color. I’m not thrilled with it, but like Laura, I submit the first tile I complete. I did have a purple and black pencil for shading, and that made all the difference.

Diva172-2

Diva Challenge #172

I demonstrated Auraknot at TT Lunch, showing how to approach it: combine aura and the tangle Hollibaugh. The outline sets the space, so there’s no stress about “fitting it in” on a tile. I showed variations of play with it: using color; making straight line “stars” vs. curved ones; filling in the line spaces; and alternating filling the line spaces. It was fun to play with. Why don’t I use this more in my art? Perhaps now I will.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jean Chaney
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 17:53:24

    Nice with the contrasts of the black against the color. I like how you made an aura around the whole tangle.

    Reply

  2. Vickie Nipp
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 22:09:04

    ok am i doing something wrong? every time i click on read more of this post it says “page not found Yahoo error” thanks vickie

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 18:12:59

      Darn, Vickie. I don’t know what the issue could be. A Yahoo browser? Some poor connection? Internet connections not playing well together? My website being persnickety? If you get this reply, email me and I’ll troubleshoot what I can or send you a direct link. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

  3. Annemarie
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 02:24:19

    Lovely! I like the orange line keeping it all together.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 18:07:17

      Thanks! Orange and purple are kinda complementary colors (orange close enough to yellow). orange and black remind me of Halloween, and the glitter is just fun!

      Reply

  4. Donald W
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 11:52:00

    Did not see the glitter until I enlarged the picture. Nice effect.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 18:08:49

      Thank you. The glitter is subtle in the photos; it’s hard to grab that with even the best light. That’s actually a neat aspect to it: the glitter is a surprise when you tilt the paper (or rotate it, like you should do with a Z tile…!).

      Reply

  5. David Hunter
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 13:42:04

    I like the way all of the players fit together. The glitter is a nice touch.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 19, 2014 @ 18:09:59

      Thanks, David. I wasn’t too sure initially how the result would be, but Auraknot and Mooka played well together. And the orange really tied it all together; bonus!

      Reply

  6. Diane Clancy
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 10:53:33

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

