Interview with the Zentangle

“Think in the morning, act in the noon, eat in the evening, sleep in the night.”~William Blake, English poet

Today we interview a special guest: the Diva Zentangle Challenge #173 tile.

Wolfhowlings: Good morning, Zentangle Tile. How are you on this Monday morning?
Zentangle Tile: Good morning. Well, it’s Monday. That in itself is a challenge.

Wolfhowlings: Yes, it is. So tell us, what is this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge?
Zentangle Tile: This week features a Guest Post by CZT Sharla Hicks. It’s called “Redux, Remix, Revisit”

20140627-104442-38682584.jpg

The beginning of the Challenge

.
.
.
Wolfhowlings: Sounds intriguing. Tell us more.

Zentangle Tile: This challenge is to take two familiar go-to tangles and combine them with an unfamiliar one, or a tangle that you’ve struggled with.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Wolfhowlings: And how have you approached that?
Zentangle Tile: Finding the go-to tangle was the hardest part, as I have so many favorites. Stuck in a rut, I suppose. My first familiar one was Tipple. I tend to draw it with out the “sparkle” and just as a swirly circle; that’s what makes it fast and fun. I challenged myself to mix sparkle and unsparkle Tipple. That added an extra zing to the familiar aspect.

20140627-104444-38684223.jpg

Blue highlights are added as exploration continues

Choosing the unfamiliar tangle was super easy: Assunta. It has Cadent tendencies blended with Bales-esque look, but I can just never get that looking like the step-out. I never have, so I tend to ignore it and pretend it doesn’t exist. Until this challenge.

I realized that the Zentangle needed some contrast, so go-to tangle #2 is Rain. Zendalas tend to be challenging for me, especially being square, so I worked a circular string into the mix and took off from there.

Wolfhowlings: What did you think of the process?
Zentangle Tile: Okay, Assunta confused me, and it was off the first time I did it. Since I was using a circular, Zendala-type string, I had another section to work in. The tangle was less off the second time, and having just done it, I was more in the flow. The flow was there because I had to move slow to get it just…well, to have it look more like the step-out pattern. Tipple was fun, but adding the sparkle element took me out of the flow because of the stop and start. I couldn’t get my sparkles even, which still gives it a nice look, so I’m glad I played around with that. Rain is Rain. Love it!

Wolfhowlings: Your finished result is certainly unique. Tell us about the color.
Zentangle Tile: Sharla used blue in her Mooka tile, and trust me, it was hard not to use Mooka because it is another go-to tangle. I don’t use color much, but I plan to take my Derwent Inktense pencils to tomorrow’s Tuesday Tangled Lunch, so I added that element to play with. I was inspired by Sharla’s blue.

20140627-104445-38685948.jpg

Zentangle Tile: Challenge #173 complete

This was a fun, sloppy mess. I was concerned about getting the shading just right, just subtle, but those Inktense pencils do have a bold opinion about how things should be, and that was to infuse intense color. So I mixed a few blue colors, four altogether, and just kind of swirled them all together. It took on a life of it’s own.

That’s Zentangle for you. I had to just go with the colors unintentionally mixing and oddly blending. I let go of my expectations and just decided to have fun, much like I’ve heard finger painting is. At some point, though, you have to set the pencil down and say, “I’m done.” That letting go is sometimes the hardest. I’m still learning that.

Wolfhowlings: For sure, the final result is stunning. Any final thoughts?
Zentangle Tile: Thank you for the compliment. That’s always a delight to hear. Can you see the subtleties? Can you make your own interpretations from it? It’s all about exploring and playing.

Wolfhowlings: Well, thank you so much for your time today. Perhaps you’ll be willing to come back another time to share you thoughts and perspectives?
Zentangle Tile: Oh, absolutely! I look forward to it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Jun 28, 2014 @ 02:03:02

    A different way to post :-) Your tile is stunning!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

