All Things Creative once more

“Go to Heaven for the climate, Hell for the company.”~Mark Twain, American writer

If it’s the second Wednesday of the month–and it is!–then it’s time to submerge yourself in All Things Creative.

This month’s theme was Winter Wonderland, which is something no one in Michigan wants to think of now that the horrid winter of 2014 has passed us by. Still, it’s great to learn how the cards were made.

20140709-224846-82126021.jpg

Love that snowman!

One person combined brads and cork to make a “Christmas in July” tree. One woman used the Found Poetry technique to create a snow bird postcard. Someone combined fuzzy velvet paper and diecuts to make elegant snowflake cards. Another artist tore papers to create snowmen and colorful backgrounds.

I also used snowmen in my ATCs. I combined a light blue snowflake ribbon with some winter word scrapbook paper. I added rubber stamp images of my go-to trees stamp, and I finally opened my set of Tim Holtz Mini Blueprints stamps. The snowman and snowflake were perfect. Add a sparkle of Stickles for highlight, and these are my masterpieces. They’re cool.

20140709-224845-82125738.jpg

Embossing experimentation in my art journal

Tonight’s technique was embossing. I’ve dabbled in this, but I’m no expert…although I’m closer to being one now after tonight’s lesson. I made a “cheat sheet” of the different effects produced by each, what I call, “adhesive medium.” The Zig embossing pen draws thin, detailed lines. Versamark and Verafine ink pads add levels of detail that an embossing dauber does not. Using clear embossing powder on top of black pigment ink creates a different darkness than using black power with a clear embossing pad. After my cheat sheet was complete, I played with a few powders in my journal. The holographic powder mesmerizes me. I see a craft store purchase soon….

20140709-224843-82123965.jpg

UTEE and Angelina fabric: Yowza!


The most fun, by far, was using UTEE. I never used Ultra Thick Embossing Enamel before because I thought it could only be used in a melting pot. I discovered the thick crystal powder could be melted with a heating gun. It makes sense now. One embossed UTEE layer produces a pebble effect, much like raindrops on a window. Two layers is sturdy enough to smoosh a small coin or object into it. Three coats smooths the overall look with or without items. An Angelina fabric finale, and everyone loved the look I produced melting the fibers into the UTEE.

I’m the Demo Diva next month to teach the technique of making artist trading cards with doors. We also get to play with Washi tape for the monthly theme. Fun times ahead.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

