BYOB, Zentangle-style

“A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others.”~Ayn Rand, Russian writer

BYOB has a new meaning this week. Over at the Diva’s Zentangle Challenge #176, it’s the inspiration for the art. The guest post by Amy Broady, CZT was to Bring Your Own Beverage as inspiration to create a Zentangle.

The first thing that came to mind was the Diet Coke logo. I wasn’t drinking any at the time. I didn’t have an old can in front of me. It was morning. Why my mind should jump to this, I have no idea.

No, I told myself. I can’t use this. It’s against The Rules. I have to find a drink in front of me.

20140718-161250-58370612.jpg

Swirly-swoosh of Zentangle Challenge #176

Didn’t work. No matter how I thought about other ways to create my Zentangle–tea or coffee staining (akin to what Amy did), using a cannister as a string (which I did last week)–I kept coming back to the logo. I placed a Pepsi-esque circle in place of the Diet Coke logo, drew a freehand swirl, and off I went.

When I was done with the swirl, I felt like it needed more to be complete, but I wanted the focus to be on the swirl. I wanted no distractions, so I left it as-is. Big, gaping white space. Zoinks!

That’s a bold statement. I felt brave. I felt incomplete. Contradictory thoughts, but that’s how life is, the serendipity of it all. I look at it and think, Yes, it could be more finished, but I also felt the need to be done and let it fly. Kick that Inner Editor/Art Critic in the butt and free yourself to move on. That’s just as brave, maybe more so.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kia
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 21:49:46

    oh – your picture isn’t showing up for me and I so wanted to see it after your description

    Reply

  2. Kia
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 21:51:42

    Ah – there it is – just a glitch I guess. I like the amount of white space — It has a ribbon with a knot feel to it. Very nice.

    Reply

  3. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 22:13:02

    Nice Kick!

    Reply

  4. Annemarie
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 01:42:01

    Very pretty.

    Reply

  5. David Hunter
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 10:15:02

    Love your Tile. Great flow and your patterns are so lively.Your write up is a total delight, and the “Smashed” penny for your thoughts made me laugh. I really enjoyed your entry. Good job.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jul 19, 2014 @ 13:46:46

      Awwww…super-sweet thanks! I think my swirl helps the flow; glad you noticed. If you’ve never rolled a smashed penny before, do so on your next vaca.

      Reply

  6. Jean Chaney
    Jul 19, 2014 @ 17:10:37

    Fun post. I often have to battle with that darn inner critic. Why can’t he just leave us alone?

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jul 19, 2014 @ 19:01:43

      Of my inner critic, I say to thee, “He tasks me. He tasks me and I shall have him!” (Just saw that episode on Big Bang Theory.) Thanks for the comments!

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

