A Fan-ciful Zentangle Challenge

“The real man smiles in trouble, gathers strength from distress, and grows brave by reflection.”~Thomas Paine, English Writer

This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #177 is another guest post. Caroline Brady, CZT, encourages everyone to use her tangle, Truffle, in your Zentangle art.

Zentangle-Diva177

Di’s Zentangle Challenge #177

Like Laura, I post my first tile…except today. It took me a bit of time to get this tangle into Zen mode, so I used that first tile as practice to play with the spacing of dotted lines and the depth of the curves. I found that using straight lines gave me a more attractive look. I wasn’t getting the curved lines to work to my preference, so I used straight lines. That gave me less of a rolling sea waves feel and more of a hand-held fan look.

When my friend, Deb, was in Japan for a few years, I visited her there. Among my purchases, I came home with several decorative fans there. That was the image swirling in my mind as I completed this challenge. I like the straight twist on the original.

20140724-144144-52904621.jpg

My favorite Japanese fan

Maybe that’s just the way I’m feeling these days: rigid, sturdy, yet flexible and beautiful. My husband tells me everyday: “Pretty pea. Always Pretty pea.” I don’t always feel attractive, either by a bad hair day or bitter snappy reaction to some experience. Yet with his repetition, I’m taking that to heart and believing what he says. He is right.

At least in this case.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 02:09:10

    Like Laura and you (and probably others) I also post my first tile. I find that very rewarding for myself.
    This tile of yours is beautiful, I like your Truffle.

    Reply

  2. David Hunter
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 10:01:27

    I find your Tile very Zen-full. The way your patterns flow with each other is natural and restful. Great job on the Truffle pattern.

    Reply

  3. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 14:38:23

    I really like the tangles that you picked to go with the truffle and your fan is lovely.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jul 26, 2014 @ 01:41:37

      Thanks. I adore my Japanese fan, a constant reminder of beauty hanging on the wall in my craft room. How could I not be inspired by Truffle here!

      Reply

  4. Donald W
    Jul 25, 2014 @ 23:15:59

    I applaud your posting your first tile. I do that also. In a way it is a little intimidating, but is a part of the Zentangle® method of no mistakes. I like your Truffle river through the middle of the tile.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jul 26, 2014 @ 01:44:01

      A Truffle river…cool! I’ve always struggled with shapes-sizes-contrast combination of tangles; I’m pleased I “got it” this tile around.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

