My Star Trek is a winner

“Art is the daughter of freedom.”~Freiedrich Schiller, German writer

I AM A WINNER!

How totally cool is this? My first published eBook, Mom, Star Trek and Las Vegas: A Grand Adventure, won THIRD PLACE NATIONALLY in the annual NFPW Communications Contest.

The National Federation of Press Women is open to media professionals in every aspect of communications, from print to radio to TV and beyond. I have been a member for almost 10 years, joining when I moved to Delaware and had regular columns in newspapers and magazines.

20140729-105113-39073228.jpg

Awesome and award-winning book!

This is my book’s synopsis: Have you ever been brainwashed by your parents? I have, and one of those events is Star Trek. You don’t have to be a science fiction fan to connect with the quirky love expressed between parent and child. If you’re a Trekkie (or Trekker), take this walk down memory lane and remember your humble fandom beginnings.

And I won. Little ol’ me. Not that I need outside justification to be a “real” writer but…it is really is awesome when That happens.

Damn, I’m a great writer!

To publish a book–and to win–is to boldly go where I have not gone before.

It is with that same boldness I approached this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #178.  Actually, this one was pretty easy: use your name as inspiration for the tangles you use.

20140729-083739-31059679.jpg

My D-String

Double bonus here because the initial of my first name makes an awesome string.  I’ve done this before a few times, and I always love the look of it. This tile is no different.  I used tangles I haven’t touched in months (dare I say years?) and still found a balance of light and dark in my Zentangle.

My first name, Diana, is represented by Drupe. It was the only tangle I drew in any named order. I used Vitruvius to honor my given middle name from my Dad’s sister, Aunt Virginia. That is a tangle…well…my gosh, I forgot that existed! My maiden name was Wolf, and I changed that to my middle name when I got married to honor Dad.  Double meaning, W2. It worked well given the large interior space in the D.

20140729-083741-31061316.jpg

D.V.W.H.

My married name, Hirsch, gets a bonus tangle because I had five segments to fill. Hibred is a cool border tangle I used inside W2 to mask a misstep in the tangle’s official step outs. I needed to take my time with Hurry because it had to fit inside the small loop. A smidge of shading and ta-da!

Vitruvius. it just now occurs to me why that word sounded so familiar. That’s the name of the spectral wizard who brings all Master Builders together to fulfill the Prophecy in The Lego Movie. Marcus Vitruvius Pollio was a Roman architect and chief of the artillery experts who operated the military machines. He is the sketch drawn by Leonardo da Vinci, the human body spread out clock-like as if trapped inside a world.

Bet you didn’t expect a history lesson here. I didn’t expect to write one, but it is summer break, so everyone needs to keep their minds exercised before school starts in September.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sheryl kay oder
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 11:55:11

    Congratulations, Diana.

    Reply

  2. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 12:23:29

    Congratulations! How exciting for you!

    Reply

  3. Tina
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 20:13:36

    That is gorgeous ! Congrats as well … that’s awesome!

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jul 29, 2014 @ 22:21:34

      Thank you. I was so utterly pleased with my Zentangle, and it’s not always a labor of love. This one just came together…as did the award. Such a surprise.

      Reply

  4. Annemarie
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 16:39:58

    And also from me: congratulations!!!!!! I wish my English was better, then I would read your book -:)
    Your tile is beautiful, I like the tangles you have chosen.

    Reply

  5. Genevieve
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 18:29:02

    Congratulations on your book! :D

    Reply

  6. Donald W
    Jul 31, 2014 @ 22:40:52

    Your tile looks great. Unique way to address the challenge by also using your initial as the string. Congratulations on the award.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

