Birthday fun, flowers and Zentangle

“It is not how much we have but how much we enjoy that makes happiness.”~Charles Spurgeon, British clergyman

Happy Birthday to me!

Yep, that’s me, boldly proclaiming the day the world was graced by my presence (“Monday’s child is fair of face, Tuesday’s child is full of grace, Wednesday’s child…”). I was born on a Tuesday, just like today.

20140911-110220-39740782.jpg

Pop-up flowers + yellow glitter smiley face = happiness

I never take work off on my birthday. Why would I miss the opportunity for the following exchange?

Random person: “Hi, how are you?”
Me: “I’m great! Today is my birthday!”
Random person: “Well, Happy Birthday. Let me buy you lunch/dinner/a Frappuccino.”

It’s been a low-key day, something I welcome after the long weekend past and the long weekend upcoming. Writing. Café Vanilla Frappuccino at Starbucks. Handmade pizza for dinner. Gifts and cards and a scrapbook kit, oh my! I wrapped the day up by tangling this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #184 while watching Major Crimes DVD, my favorite gift my husband gave me. And the flowers, delightfully fun paper flowers.

20140911-110219-39739043.jpg

Tangle-ING Diva Zentangle Challenge #184

The tangle ING is simple: zigzag lines that connect together as triangles. I see a lot of possibility in this, but today I created a simple tile. Nipa was inspired by one of my Tuesday Tangled Lunch attendees today. It’s a fun, watery tangle, something flowing to break up the stark lines of ING.

A simple little Zentangle. A simple, relaxing birthday. Life is good.

20140911-154048-56448847.jpg

Happy Birthday to me!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne Marie
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 02:46:51

    Indeed, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!!! Like the ING tile.

    Reply

  2. David Hunter
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 09:59:07

    Lovely ING Tile, Diana. Lots of movement and I, too, love the Nipa. Happy, happy Birthday wishes to you.

    Reply

  3. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:20:33

    Many Happy Returns! Hope you had a great day and your year continues to be awesome. Nice tile too! :)

    Reply

  4. Jean Chaney
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 16:07:43

    It sounds like you had the perfect birthday. That makes me happy :) I like your tile as well, particularly the choice of complimentary tiles that you added to the ING.

    Reply

  5. Kia
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 17:11:07

    Happy Birthday. I like your tile – nice use of ING.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

