Procrastination: reason or excuse?

“A smile is the light in your window that tells others that there is a caring, sharing person inside.”~Denis, Waitley, American writer

I’ve been thinking a lot about procrastination lately. I am “behind” in almost every aspect of my life these days: unanswered emails; blog posts; scrapbooking; mail; organizing and cleaning; writing; social media; editing my book…you name it. How much of this is the reality of only 24 hours in a day and how much of this is an excuse?

I don’t know. There is a fine line, and I do not let that count as an excuse. There is only so much that can physically be done in a day, but really, how much has been properly prioritized? Does multi-tasking really work, or does it upset the flow of completing another task?

How one works best is determined by the specific person and events, true, but is procrastination a form of laziness? When all priorities need to be attacked Now, where do you start?

I used to be better at this. I think. I’m spreading myself too thin and am saying no to things, but what remains is still a lot. The things I know are important–besides any life or death situations–or are fun seem to be the ones that I push aside. “I can make that call to set up an appointment, and while I’m waiting for a response, I can finish writing.” Yet it never works out that seamlessly. In frustration, I shut down, play a game on my phone to relax, and before I know it, it’s bedtime.

I’m too hard on myself. I’m too soft on myself. When do you feel overwhelmed?

Maybe I’ll think about that later.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sheryl kay oder
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 00:13:30

    When I think of procrastination I think of only one task being pushed into an indefinite future. My own concept of reason or excuse again is usually related to one task. If I really want to do something but an urgent matter comes up, that is the reason I don’t get it done. However, if that task is not important to me, anything halfway plausible is a good enough excuse. My guess is you, like me sometimes, are having problems figuring out priorities. Years ago I would often spend too much time figuring out a to-do list and too little time doing anything. 😞 You sound pretty human to me. Maybe you are simply in a routine waiting for something more challenging to come along.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Oct 14, 2014 @ 07:15:17

      Woahhhh…that is deep and insightful. The “figuring out a to-do list and too little time doing” struck a chord. Editing my book: I love it, I’m afraid of it. Why don’t I make it a priority over, say, Twitter? (Maybe that “indefinite future” = no sense of failure…?)

      Reply

  2. Sandra Robinson
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 12:08:08

    Hi Diana! I had really hoped to be with you today. Unfortunately I have an emergency dental appointment instead. So now I wait until the next “lunch”. Please let me know if you’re scheduling any more daytime classes.

    Sandy Robinson

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  3. Bohemian Valhalla
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 21:54:10

    I am both too hard on myself and too soft on myself. As a full time unpaid Caregiver I had assumed that taking an early Retirement to focus on Family needs would free up so much extra time… I was wrong. *smiles* I feel most overwhelmed when I look at the Big Picture rather than just focusing upon reasonable amounts I could accomplish and then feel accomplished at doing that at least, even if much still remains to be done. Balance is key… I can’t do it all… so I must just do what I can and not give up, give in or give out. Some days I do very little on purpose… just so that I’m a Human Being for that day and not a Human Doing every day. Blessings from the Arizona Desert… Dawn… The Bohemian

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

