Zentangle: Pretty in pink

“Understanding is joyous.”~Carl Sagan, American scientist

Cancer has affected my life. Among Dad’s many health conditions, he developed cancer in his later years of life. My one aunt had skin cancer. I expect that another family segment of relatives would have developed lung cancer from being lifelong smokers, but sometimes those people get lucky and just infect others. THON is the charity that defines Penn State students and alumni, supporting children with cancer through The Four Diamonds Fund, and I have danced twice so far to support the cause. I have not been affected physically by that disease…yet…and I’m hoping never to be.

This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #190 is to use the color pink in your art in support of breast cancer. I say use pink to support the fight against any type of cancer. Men used to wear pink, and those who still do can be quite dashing; Ralph Lauren certainly thought so for the movie The Great Gatsby, and who can argue with that stylish designer?

IMG_7306.JPG

Diva #190: dancing in pink

And so my entry into this week’s Challenge does not focus on gender but on the name. I used Printemps, Ixorus, ‘Nzeppel and Knightsbridge as my tangles. I did not find a direct “pink” color in my set of Derwent Inktense pencils, but I found something pink-esque, and used one definitely-pink gel pen to play counterpoint to the softness. I’m pleased, and it’s not often that I say that about my first attempt.

Support the fight against any cancer any way you can. It’s all a good fight.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kia
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 18:45:08

    very nice tile – I like your different shades of pink – I wish there was a pink Inktense

    Reply

  2. Ilse
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 02:25:08

    Nice patterns all together!

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Oct 23, 2014 @ 02:33:15

    Yes, you can be pleased with this beautiful tile.

    Reply

  4. Lily
    Oct 24, 2014 @ 02:59:54

    Lovely tile.

    Reply

  5. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 17:33:07

    Great tile!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

