Betwixt and Betweed for a Halloween-inspired Zentangle

“Never give up, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn.”~Harriet Beecher Stowe, American writer

Focus. Staying focused. Focus can be good, so that distractions don’t sway you from your goal. Focus can be bad when everything else is ignored. Focus can be the name of a car. I consider the word “focus” as examining one thing closely, in detail but being open.

This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #191 is to complete a monotangle using the tangle Betweed. A monotangle explores all the different facets of one tangle. I don’t use this enough in my Zentangle art, despite it being one of my go-to tangles. Too much out there to focus on and allow myself to play with tangles I like. Maybe because the tangle is so easy to complete, I feel like it is cheating to have fun with something so simple. This week’s challenge is the perfect excuse.

IMG_8329.JPG

Diva #191: spiderweb

I was excited to do complete this, but them my Monday turned into a Monday. My day became increasingly frustrating and I ended up being cranky. BY the time I got home, I needed the outlet to focus and relax, but I was also cranky and distracted. I used a black tile as something different to play with. I like the intricate web the Betweed creates, and I stopped myself from shading. I shaded a previous piece of black Zentangle art and was disappointed by the end result; it was crisper without the shading. Having used Betweed in several different way on this tile, I left it alone and like the fact that you can’t tell where one begins and another ends.

It’s all spider-webby, great inspiration for upcoming Halloween. My annual Halloween Blog Party occurred two days ago, but I assure you, there is plenty of food and drink for partygoers. For now; the Guys like chocolate, especially Catnap. Stop by to enjoy some treats and a feast for your eyes.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jean Chaney
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 14:38:58

    Betweed really looks good with the white on black. It’s hard to tangle when you’re not really in the mood though. Hoping for a relaxing day for you soon :)

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Oct 29, 2014 @ 14:03:59

      Thanks Jean. It’s Wednesday as I reply, and today has been a relaxing day: coffee with a friend and an afternoon writing/editing my book in a local bookstore with a hot cup of tea. Delight-full!

      Reply

  2. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 15:07:17

    I also like the way it look on a black tile all spider web like and perfect for the Halloween Party! ;)

    Reply

  3. Lianne
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 18:28:44

    Great job. Betweed looks really good on black and of course there is no wrong in Zentangle, so if the tile does not want shading then that’ ok.

    Reply

  4. Lori Byerly
    Oct 30, 2014 @ 19:25:10

    White on black. How lovely.

    Reply

  5. jacque solomon
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 22:32:07

    I really like what you did with your Betweed tile! Sorry you had a crummy day because that can sometimes hinder creativity. Looks like you got over it! Also, I absolutely adored your Halloween party! It was the epitome of a great time and your guests were simply charming! :)

    Happy Tangling,
    Jacque
    http://www.tanglebright.com

    Reply

  6. Anne Marie
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 03:24:39

    I like this Betweed where one goes over in the other, but you cannot tell where!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

