How to save a walrus

“Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school.”~ Albert Einstein, German scientist

As I continue to write and edit My Father, My Friend and as I think about NaNoWriMo, I downloaded a new app, Prompts. Sounds great for writers who smack into the stone wall called Writers Block. The app prompts you with a random first line to write about. If you’re stuck on the topic, it also suggests an approach to take, such as “What about the research?” and “Focus on one emotion.” I haven’t used it yet in my writing, but I plan to as I revise and tighten my memoir. To practice, here is what random generated for me.

How to save a walrus in 5 easy steps:

IMG_8840.JPG

My first Drawsome: Walrus. See others on my Pinterest page.

1–Keep a large tooth-and-nail file handy
2–Always travel with a yellow submarine
3–Antacids cure upset stomachs, but you’ll need a large bottle
4–Keep walrus away from the high-diving board
5–Walk softly and carry a big net

Hmmm. I’m not sure how I would use that in any writing, except that maybe a list in my story will inspire a character or provide some conflict. I’m going to have to try this again. I wonder what magical or mysterious prompt will be next…?

Care to share your thoughts?

