New Year, new approach: writing and more

“It is not how much we have, but how much we enjoy, that makes happiness.”~Charles Spurgeon, British clergyman

To keep up with my New Year’s resolutions, I decided to break down my pages-long To-Do list into something manageable. To keep a focus, I decided that each week I will set one personal and one professional goal. Once I complete that, I’m off for the rest of the week. I may choose to do something else, but if all I do is complete one task a week, that’s 52 projects complete. It’s a sense of accomplishment, no matter how small, and motivation to do the next thing.

This week’s personal goal: fix the closet. All I need to do is attach a new hanging bar, but it’s something I’ve pushed off for whatever reasons. Doing this will let me hang up the seasonal clothes, perhaps cleaning out old stuff I haven’t worn in years. I will also be able to move my shoes and other accessories into the closet, thus freeing up floor space that I can use to organize papers from my office or just to dance around on.

This week’s professional goal is to update my website. Yes, this award-winning site you are reading. I know, I know…it’s already great, what could make this site more awesomer…? Despite all that, there are parts I want to tweak, to update elements, to play. This could become a bigger task than planned, so I am comfortable dividing the site up and working on one or two sections at a time.

It’s all about being manageable.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

