Making excuses

“It is not how much we have but how much we enjoy that makes happiness.”~Charles Spurgeon, British clergyman

Sometimes you just need to throw yourself a good pity party to celebrate life.

After yesterday’s frustration, I turned things around a bit. The last Gala apple in the frig was firm and sweet, much better than the previous one, but note: the last one. I made an excuse to get out–fresh fruit from the corner store–and discovered owners made a fresh batch of their homemade turkey chili. Saved it for today, since my schedule was uncertain waiting for the dryer tech. Got fresh salad fixin’s so I could have a protein-filled dinner without dipping too much into my weekly bonus Points. Sat down to write a bit. Gave myself permission to catch up on Facebook slowly, slowly, and rewarding myself with a good WiiFit night. After all, if I choose not to get out, I can still be active.

In fact, it was a fun exercise. One post inspired me to create a movie trailer video about my writing. That spurred all sorts of fun and creativity, and suddenly Facebook was no longer a chore.

IMG_2706.JPG

The string for Diva Zentangle #202

Not that this changes the Zentangle frustration from yesterday. This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #202 is to create a tile using only two tangles created by CZT, Margaret Bremner. The tangle Chebucto was posted on my birthday in 2011, so I hoped for a connection between us. It’s a fun little criss-cross ribbon, but only if you create the diamonds exactly the same size and shape. I am not that perfect, so the frustration comes in trying to make the rest of it fit together when things are off-center. I tried some tangleations of it, and that worked to distract from the offsides. It became a maze, and that made me smile.

IMG_2828.JPG

Completed Diva Zentangle Challenge 202

The tangle Copada is another border-esque tangle. This one was easier, less complicated, and it reminded me of the CZT tangle Knase, a tangle I positively adore. Following the step-outs for Copada left an overall outline, much like a coloring book image, with all sorts of large and ribbony spaces to tangle in. There was so much possibility there that there was too much possibility. I work best when there is a defined end design, and I can launch off with variations from there. With nothing to ground me, I stared at the tangle like I had Writers Block.

That’s the beauty of these challenges, however. Taking us out of our comfort zone is what helps define us.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Fluhr
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 15:57:25

    I’m glad I’m not the only person who resorted to tangleations to hide imprecision. ;-) Your final result is very satisfying to look at, so it’s all good. :)

    Reply

  2. Lynell Harlow
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 23:41:39

    Whoa! This is great! Loving seeing what everyone has created. I had to practice these quite a bit to be able to get it the Chebuncto about did me in! Thank goodness Wayne was able to direct me to a couple of different ways of doing it. The same technique doesn’t always work for everyone.

    Reply

  3. SuzyMosh
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 09:49:27

    Nice work. I have the problem of not being able to keep the correct shape or size in a repeating pattern. I just work it into the design like you have.

    Reply

  4. Jean Chaney
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 13:26:24

    I had many false starts with Chebucto myself. Yours turned out very nicely in the end though!

    Reply

  5. bmlilith
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 14:09:42

    Wonderful tile and post.

    Reply

  6. Annemarie
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 04:44:08

    I think you did a great job after trying so hard!!!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

