“Un-” tangling the history of St. Patrick’s Day

“You cannot have a positive life and a negative mind.”~Joyce Meyer, American author

How exciting: my MegaMeet class keeps filling up. Zentangle Found Poetry. It’s such a unique class that it either intrigues you and inspires or it intimates you with the unknown. Thursday’s class holding steady at 16 seats left. Friday is the best day, filling up fast into the single digits of seats left.

IMG_6245

Learn to turn books into works of art at Mega Meet

Saturday is the slowest day so far–slow for every class, it seems–but I’m picking up students about every three days or so, down to 21 seats. If you’re in the Detroit area on Mother’s Day weekend, come check it out. I’ll also be at the Michigan Scrapbooker Magazine welcome table on Friday afternoon, so be sure to say hi.

My husband and I wonder: how do Irish people feel about St. Patrick’s Day? The only celebration of the Irish heritage reflects green attire and universal ability to consume massive flagons of beer.

According to Wikipedia and references there, Patrick was born in Great Britain and kidnapped at 16 where he was taken to Ireland and worked as a slave. When he “found God,” he returned home and became a priest. He later returned to Ireland to convert the Irish into Christianity. He used the shamrock to explain the Holy Trinity and the rebirth of spring and the soul. The green color of the shamrock has long been associated with Ireland, but there was a time when blue was the color of St. Patrick. The popularity of green returned in the 19th and 20th centuries. Only in 1903 did St. Patrick’s Day become and official public holiday. Because of the Irish tradition to drink at the wakes of family and friends to honor the dead, drinking continued to remember the death of St. Patrick. At one point, the bars in Ireland were closed on March 17 due to excessive and out of control drinking, a law that was repealed in the 1970s.

So welcome, everyone, to using death as excuse to drink lots of beer, some of it colored green.

The color green is the focus of this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #209.

IMG_4102.JPG

I decided to tangle while I was out after a doctor’s appointment. Without my artsy supplies, I used whatever materials I had with me. I travel with tiles and colored pens to journal and edit my writing with. I drew an abstract shamrock string, and used each color once. Turns out that the two lighter greens were close enough in color that could shade each other well. I tied the piece together with some inverted Mookas and the color blue as a background, also a shade that complimented the greens.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day. I’m drinking a caramel vanilla latte, and I raise it in toast.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 11:57:01

    Love your found poetry tangles, and here’s to working with what you have. You tied it together very well!

    Reply

  2. Annemarie
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 03:04:46

    Very well done and a great post.

    Reply

  3. bmlilith
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 08:58:08

    Wonderful tile.

    Reply

  4. Lynell
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 11:37:30

    A few years ago I visited Ireland and the family I stayed with told me that St. Patrick’s Day in Ireland is not that big of a celebration. He had a job where he flew to the U.S. several times a year and he was amazed at how much people here celebrate the holiday. Perhaps it’s because we have a penchant to commercialize at every opportunity …who knows? But I do love the idea of greening things up, even if it’s just to celebrate that Spring is around the corner…I’ll spend money on green paint and ink. : ) I like your idea for your mega class, wish I lived closer! And your tile with all the greens?…well I am a green fan and think it’s beautiful!

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:38:15

      Thank you for the compliments. Interesting to hear how other places celebrate holidays and events. Of course commercialization has somerhing to do with it–in May, I’ll walk into my nearby big-box craft store and find Christmas everywhere. Thats not the rebirth i think of at this time of year. Happy green springtime thoughts to you. :)

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

