Two challenges: April to Zentangle

“Start by doing what is necessary, then do what is possible, and suddenly you are doing the impossible.”~Francis of Assisi, Italian Saint

There is a lot going on in this post, whole lots. The big thing here is the A to Z Blogging Challenge.

I probably found out about this from someone in my WordPress reader stream. Really, who knows how we all hear about these things on the Internet. It seemed an intriguing challenge: blog everyday in the month of April, except Sundays, with the only theme being that day’s letter of the alphabet.

I’ve been struggling with blogging lately, less so since I took Marcie Hill’s Overcoming Bloggers Block to heart, but this seemed like an incentive to keep current and constant with my writing. I could combine the two elements into my life: blogging with the help of blogging!

AtoZ-BlogChallenge-2015-AprilCalendar2

It took awhile to decide on a theme. I trolled around the Theme Reveal Page from participants. I didn’t post over there because I didn’t accept the challenge yet and even if I had, I didn’t know what I’d write about. I cheated and created a second March 23rd post so others could find me if they were searching for Theme Reveal and that date. I visited many of the blogs listed there–seriously, about half of the 544 websites–to gain inspiration and to check out what others are doing.

There’s a whole lotta websites out there in the world.

AtoZ-BlogChallenge-2015-ThemeReveal

In the end, I chose inspiration from one site using emotions and words from the dictionary and combined that with this cool eBook I read about tips for travelling with vampires. My theme is:

26 Ways to Procrastinate a Writer

Perhaps that’s why I was not into this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #211. Flux is a fun, easy tangle, but I have never quite mastered the whole comma-aspect of the design. It always starts out “perfect” but then dissolves into something kinda stringy. From flower to string cheese. Rick’s interpretation of it intrigued me, so I thought I’d try them both out in a mix-n-match kind od flowing tile.

IMG_4438.JPG

Di’s Diva Challenge #211: Flux

That happened again, and I wasn’t quite grasping Rick’s version. Well, I did, but I didn’t have the space available on my tile to play and experiment. I tried to stay within the strings, but sometimes tangles just want to play outside the lines.

At some point, I just gave up. I filled in the empty spaces with solid black, and that contrast suddenly made in better in my eyes. I just needed a little punch. For reasons I can’t explain, I enjoyed shading Rick’s version more than the “standard” style of Flux. Maybe because it was new. Maybe because in the end, I felt more in control making a leaf-tongue than a comma. More to experiment with.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Antonine Federico Koval
    Apr 02, 2015 @ 14:26:15

    I love your Flux tile. You managed to show lots of variation in form and placement of both versions of the tangle. The black really sets it off. This is wonderful!

    Reply

  2. Annemarie
    Apr 03, 2015 @ 05:03:34

    I do like your Flux tile, the black makes it pop.

    Reply

  3. Ilse
    Apr 03, 2015 @ 07:09:05

    Lovely Flux tile! The black parts give it great contrast.

    Reply

  4. Francine
    Apr 03, 2015 @ 08:53:34

    Een mooie “fluxe” beweging zit er in je tile, leuk!

    Reply

  5. Lynell
    Apr 04, 2015 @ 06:47:17

    Reading your blog is easy…you write well! I will have to check out the blogging challenge…sounds very interesting. Like how you used both versions of flux…I think they are different enough to have their own names. Not sure if that would happen, but a thought. I agree the filled in black background makes your piece striking.

    Reply

  6. Cari Sultanik
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 13:51:20

    I found Rick’s version to be a challenge too, and I think you did a nice job interpreting it. You have a nice balance of complexity and simplicity! I know it’s hard not to be hard on yourself :)

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

