Smartphones, Yahtzee and more in #WeekendCoffeeShare

“Change is the law of life.”~John F. Kennedy, American president.

If we were having coffee, I’d share a joke with you that my husband made. I’d pull out my iPhone–ironic, right?–and show you the picture he asked me to take of his first iPhone next to his 6+. Seeing them side by side, he observed how cute they were together, like those My First toys: “My First Craftsman,” “My First Barbie,” “My First record player,” and “My First iPhone.”

IMG_7328.JPG

========================================================

If we were having coffee, I would show you an app on my iPhone and tell you I have found my Happy Place with Swarm, The Check-in App Formerly Known As Foursquare. I hated the change, breaking the original cool app into two separate ones. I fought the change, I boycotted the app, but I missed following my friends. I downloaded the app. Little by little, Swarm put back the features we users all loved. Mayorships have returned, badges are available for the hunt once more, and the new add-a-sticker feature is cool for sharing your mood. I never sought out badges-stickers before, but now I challenge myself to figure out the clues in this game. Tonight, I earned the Pizza Owl badge with my take-out order from Benito’s Pizza.

IMG_7341.PNG

Pizza Owl badge: intimidating yet tasty

========================================================

Speaking of games, if we were having coffee, I would tell you about the games I play with my husband. Not those kind of games, but our games in Starbucks. About seven years ago, Starbucks stores offered fun items for sale, probably an attempt to encourage more people to make the coffee store their third home. They sold travel games, specifically Travel Scrabble and Travel Yahtzee. My husband and I bought both of them–in downtown Ann Arbor, Michigan as I recall–and we play often. That game and a Frappuccino make up our “date night” several times a week. Travel Scrabble takes too long and requires too much thought, so Travel Yahtzee is (his) game of choice.

IMG_7330.JPG

We often get large straights
on our first roll

I grew up playing board games with my parents, but this is more of a novelty for my husband. We’ve played this game at every coffee shop we go to, but most often in Starbucks. As a scrapbooker, I have every game sheet we’ve played. In that time, he has had the highest score–somewhere between 600-800 points–and he has swept two cards.

We also take pictures of every Yahtzee we each roll. Yes, I have a stack of Yahtzee photos.

IMG_7333.JPG

That’s right, I rolled a Yahtzee.
Deal with it.

On this very day, while drinking a mocha Frappuccino, I swept my first card.
Boom!
That’s how I roll. One more sweep and we’re even.

IMG_7335.JPG

That’s right: my second Yahtzee helps me win the game…and more

It’s friendly competition. If we were having coffee, I’d ask if you want to play a game with us.  We have plenty of photocopied scoresheets, and we travel with 5 different colored ink pens. You never know when a weekend coffee friend will come along.

IMG_7336.JPG

My first swept Yahtzee scoresheet

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Conny Kaufmann
    Jun 06, 2015 @ 12:35:26

    I kept trying to figure out what Yahtzee is as I don’t know all the English names for board games. Turns out, I know this as “Kniffel” in German. My Go-To travel game (next to Ligretto). It’s been a while since I last played. Should I cross the pond again I’d totally stop by for a Starbucks coffee and a game of Yahtzee! :)

    Reply

  2. somemaid
    Jun 06, 2015 @ 16:13:11

    I’ve never played Yahtzee (slightly embarrassed to admit that!) but I love playing games, I’m trying to convince my husband we need to play more games with the kids. Think its working! Thank you for the game and the tea. Hope to stop by again soon.

    Reply

  3. Corina
    Jun 06, 2015 @ 16:54:39

    I love both Yahtzee and Scrabble, as well as other games. However, I don’t have anyone to play with. I would totally play at a Starbucks if I had someone to play with. That’s one of the things I miss not having friends in the same state!

    Reply

  4. Vagrant Rhodia
    Jun 07, 2015 @ 11:57:46

    Not very competitive..but since you asked :D

    Reply

  5. Diana
    Jun 07, 2015 @ 13:57:29

    We play games a lot in my family, too, but they tend to be word games and occasional card games more than board games, though we do play our fair share of those, too.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 08, 2015 @ 14:09:53

      Any “together” game is a good one. I grew up playing those, so much more rewarding than Angry Birds (altho’ that does have its place). Do you have a favorite game to recommend?

      Reply

      • Diana
        Jun 09, 2015 @ 10:50:04

        My husband and I are really into Cards Against Humanity right now. With the kiddo, we like Spot It! and Tell Tale Fairy Tales, and he’s also really into Don’t Spill the Beans. My sis-in-law has tons of cool games—she used to do a Once-a-Month-Gamer gaming review on my blog, but it fit better on hers, so she reviews games (and does other stuff, too) at lazyladylife.com.

        Reply

  6. Claudia H. Blanton
    Jun 07, 2015 @ 18:31:58

    oh what a fun way to spend time together! My husband and I used to play board games, before they kids (my oldest is going to college next year, so that has been a while), but they are so much fun! Blessings and have a nice week!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

