Yes, you should remember little moments

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal; it is the courage to continue that counts.”~Winston Churchill, English statesman

NOTE: apologies to Diva visitors; I initially uploaded last week’s linky code to this week’s challenge.

Do you remember last month? Heck, do you remember yesterday?

I appreciate the little things, yet sometimes I need a visual reminder of those little things so I can remember to appreciate them in the future. What about you? Do you forget little things like making all the green lights on the drive home? While that’s not a good example of capturing the image on film/digital media–always keep both hands on the wheel while driving and make bluetooth, hands-free phone calls–what are some tiny things that made your days?

For me, I looked at my phone at 4:44 on May 4th–Star Wars Day–and was able to capture that moment with a reminder pop-up on my phone’s screen. Cool coincidence!

My tree. I see her death and her rebirth. Follow the full journey over at #TheWritersTree on my Instagram feed.  I am so pleased, nervous, scared, happy and joy-full over her daily growth and change. Little changes every day: a new bud here, a larger leaf furl the next.

Zentangle classes at Great Lakes Mega Meet and Baker’s Studio. Happy students. Stunning images.

Back on the WiiFit, the highest step scores to date, and I’m lookin’ fine doing this.

A navy blue evening sky. Creating my first refrigerator magnet haiku on my new phone app. Taco Tuesday–I had totally forgotten about that! An inspirational cough drop wrapper. Funky manicure color. Calming moment sitting on a wall one evening next to a highway. Yes, I found that relaxing, and I want to do it again.

I note my lack of coffeeshop photos, signaling a lack of writing. I miss that. Reminders don’t always have to be positive, but they shouldn’t make us feel guilty. I’m not, just sad that I didn’t make the time.

In a moment to make more time for things I like comes this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge 220 is the monthly Use My Tangle (UMT) post.

I have some half-finished tiles that I carry around in my Zentangle leather wallet–thanks to Laura, the Diva herself and the Blog Friendship Cup–and those tiles annoy me. Every time I look at them. It’s an incomplete feeling, a stubborn emptiness, an almost-hatred for their stalled completion. I decided to get them out of my life, and wallet, to make room for new, blank creativity. Incorporating a Diva Challenge into one of those was an increased challenge.

I not going to tell you what was new and what was old, but I was thrilled enough that my hands were not steady. The lines on All Boxed Up are uneven, but it’s a comfortable, flowing tangle full of auras. I like that aspect of tangles, and I like the sense of happiness at reviving an older, unfinished tile.

I have two more tiles like that–at least that I know of. This is exciting.

Another little moment to remember. What about you? Is this one of those moments?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Fluhr
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 14:53:45

    I really like what you did to complete your incomplete tile. Of course, other than the field of All Boxed Up, I don’t know what was already there and certainly if you hadn’t told us, I wouldn’t have guessed that you were adding on to something you’d been carrying around.
    PS; I think you linked to the 219 challenge in the 220 linky. I went to your home tab to find this. Others might not be so resourceful. ;-)

    Reply

  2. dwhirsch
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 14:03:16

    I’m glad that my tile appeared so seamless. I felt good about it; I’m glad it’s not obvious to others.

    Thanks for catching that! I uploaded the correct linky code. I appreciate your note AND your exploration of the correct post. You’re awesome!

    Reply

  3. Annemarie
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 02:20:42

    I remember a lot of ‘little’ things that were in fact ‘huge’ things in my life. Let’s keep doing that. I like your tile being finished and would never have know about it’s finishing.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 08, 2015 @ 14:06:17

      We certainly don’t appreciate those “little” things. My iPhone “Photo 365” app help with that. I post those here; click that tag to get more insight. :)

      Reply

  4. LezliB
    Jun 07, 2015 @ 16:16:14

    I love what you have done with your tile and the way that you have integrated all the tangles together. It looks seamless; very nicely done!

    Reply

  5. garym6059
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 15:11:29

    Every one needs to stop and smell the roses about the little things, every body is in too big of a hurry anymore. If you make it home and catch all the green lights that is a freaking accomplishment! Sit back and enjoy it!

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Feb 18, 2016 @ 15:21:04

      I don’t always make the green lights, but my talent is parking spaces. Yes, you do want to come shopping with me at Christmastime. I appreciate my talent with every space. And I always hug my husband goodbye in the morn. You never know…and that’s why the little things are so big.

      Reply

  6. Diana
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 15:49:46

    It’s funny—sometimes the things you think you’ll remember best are the things that fade, while other things that seemed small end up in the forefront of memory. It is the little things, indeed. :)

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Feb 22, 2016 @ 14:36:33

      Thanks. If the world focused on such things–the kindness of strangers in the news rather than a(nother) shooting, for example–i think it would be easier for us all to see the little yet precious things in our lives. Keep loving your little-but-big things.

      Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Mar 18, 2016 @ 13:35:51

      Indeed indeed. Sometimes they’re so little we forget to see them. Just makes us look harder, which can be a good thing.

      Reply

  7. mommymuddling
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 09:44:10

    I love the little things…when I focus on them everything else disappears…worry, stress, fear, it vanishes. Right now I’m focusing on my presence at the computer and my beautiful owl mug next to me. My mug, a gift from my niece. The fact that I am here…reading your post and engaging online again…really momentous for me and a treasured moment. Thank you for the reminder!

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Feb 22, 2016 @ 14:24:46

      Oh, I’m so pleased I helped you stop and look around. I can picture your scene, in my setting and image of your owl mug, but in that thought, i can feel your peace. Im glad I inspired this happy moment. :)

      Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Mar 18, 2016 @ 13:33:10

      Anytime! It’s so hard to remember those little things, no matter how much we attempt to. Busy life interferes…or at least we choose to let it sometimes.

      Reply

  8. Alison Tedford (@alliespins)
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 18:38:35

    I’m enjoying a cleaning day with my son :) We are decluttering and it feels great

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

