Mixed up in media…or medium

“Work hard for what you want because it won’t come to you without a fight.”~Leah LaBelle, Canadian musician

When’s the last time you last freed your inner creativity to run rampant with art supplies? I did that last Sunday and wow, did that feel good.

I’ve added mixed media classes to my repertoire of teaching. I still offer my monthly Zentangle classes on the 4th Wednesday of the month–and others by availability–but venturing into art supplies is exhilarating and intimidating. I’ve used them often enough in my personal art and scrapbooking that I felt comfortable sharing my knowledge. Still, that first time can be awkward.

IMG_7805.JPG

My students’ class kit

IMG_7797.JPG

My student, Linda, works with matte medium

I didn’t have to worry. Both students were experienced enough with paper crafting that introducing new medium–soft gel medium, to be exact–added a fresh technique to their supply of knowledge.

We completed a printer’s tray wall hanging, the kind that has space for 12 vertical artist trading cards or photos. The kits were pulled from my vast collection of mixed media elements: music sheets, book pages, necklace jewelry, tea bag tags and more. These are all items I’m familiar with and comfortable using. I showed them the techniques of faux encaustic using that gel medium, dry embossing and collage.

IMG_7789.JPG

Sue works on collage composition

IMG_7793.JPG

My student, Linda, adds ephemera to her cards

The tray wasn’t completed because of a number of external issues, but also because the students had too much fun playing with the techniques, especially the dry embossing paste. I’ve found that “playing” is a lot more fun than the actual “finishing,” and when do we ever have–no, make–the time to play with abandon? Not enough, I’d guess.

Some of the completed cards

It’s hard to fit in our daily life. That’s what we tell ourselves, anyway. But why do we choose not to schedule playtime into our days? It’s not like we don’t have enough supplies–or cards, Legos, whatever. I bet some of the excuses include: lack of space; pulling out then putting away; messy; social media; sleep; and errands, just to name a few. Why do we put everyone else’s needs before ours? We can’t be healthy without some “me” time.

IMG_8109.JPG

My personal tray used as class example

This class reminded me that I treat myself as an important somebody, even if creativity needs to broken down into small steps: one day clean off table, second day choose supplies and create on the days after that. It can be done.

How about you? Do you choose to do that? Will you choose yourself?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendi
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 13:52:49

    That really turned out to be a really nice composition.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

