Hands on writing and Zentangle

“My mission in life is not merely to survive but to thrive, and do so with some passion, compassion, humor and style.”~Maya Angelou, American poet

I got into an interesting discussion with someone on Instagram. We got talking about writing styles. She does all her drafts and revisions on the computer. When I write, my first draft is always done by hand. I print out a typed copy and then edit that by hand. I do this until my final-final edits.

She asked me how I could do that, because her hand hurts when she does that. Me, I need the control to brainstorm and cross out and move sections with my pen. She can’t do that, but is intrigued by other people’s ways of writing. It continues to be an interesting discussion between us, and it made me think about my writing process. Seeing the writing world through someone else’s pen/computer coulod be a learning experience for all of us. I will be doing a blog post series on that in the future. Right now, I’m chronicling my current work on a magazine article, and I’ll focus on my full-length memoir after that.

IMG_8309.JPG

Diana’s Diva #221: Beads of Courage

I’ve always been a pen-to-paper kinda gal. I guess that’s why Zentangle appeals to me and comes so naturally. Zentangle is done by hand, pen contacting paper, a physical act. There’s a human flow to that, an authenticity. An accountability. That’s part of the Zentangle charm… and challenge.

This week’s Diva Challenge was to complete a tile inspired by Beads of Courage. Once again, I found a half-started tile, this one part of a Zentangle mosaic set. The tangle there happened to mingle perfectly with this challenge, so I went with the flow. All the tangles reflect beads in some fashion, either by direct look or by the circular inference.

Can you tell where the original was and the new stuff was added on? That’s the beauty and style of handiwork.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne Fluhr
    Jun 11, 2015 @ 01:15:05

    Hmm. Did you add the tangleated (is that a word—even in Zentangle-speak?) Diva Dance? Your tile certainly speaks to this week’s Diva’s Challenge—-plenty of beads and bead-like structures.

    I’m also interested in your writing discussion since I am a recovering lawyer/travel blogger/writer wannabe. I loved writing long hand back in the day. Even just the physical act of writing. However, I’ve been thoroughly co-opted by the computer for writing these days. Maybe that’s why Zentangle called out to me—–it lets me revert to my pen and paper days.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 18, 2015 @ 16:48:30

      Interesting this ongoing discussion about writing/art and hand/computer between me and other bloggers. It’s like I’m meant to explore this idea and topic more…..

      Reply

  2. magratscraft
    Jun 11, 2015 @ 09:56:27

    Hi Diane, I’m with you on the writing by hand, it slows me down and makes me think things through. Not with the blog, but other things work better by hand. And, like you, I suspect that my liking for writing makes Zentangle something that attracts me.
    I like your tile. It reminds me just how many ways there are to express a theme.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 18, 2015 @ 16:44:38

      Someone commented to me that she can’t write by hand: her hand cramps up (I get that, sympathize) but mostly she can’t imagine NOT writing on the keyboard. I can’t write unless it’s all laid out in front of me. I study it better, understand it more. That works with words or Zentangle.

      Reply

  3. Anne Marie
    Jun 12, 2015 @ 01:30:01

    A lovely tile!

    Reply

  4. Paula
    Jun 13, 2015 @ 17:07:00

    I am just beginning to learn about tangles. Looks like fun and would be relaxing. I am cruising by on my A to Z Road Trip.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 18, 2015 @ 16:39:48

      So glad you stopped by on your travels! Rather than inundating my followers with multiple blog posts per day, I’m spacing out my overdue posts. AT the rate I keep missing post dates, you’ll all be learning about writer procrastination into October. :)

      Reply

  5. DELL CLOVER
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 00:19:11

    You have a very “cool” blog here–and I’m intrigued by Zentangle, since I always felt doing “art” (aside from writing) was way beyond my gifts and talents. I love art, and admire artists–there are a number of them in my family (I’m the odd bird who writes, which apparently is not viewed as “art”). Wishing you all the Best.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 18, 2015 @ 16:17:53

      How sad it is that “writers” are not considered “artists,” and if you’re not paying your bills with that art/words, then you are not a “real” artist/writer. I make it a point to always describe my Zentangle creations as “Z artwork” because that’s what it is to me, regardless anyone else’s definition. And since Z is so approachable, try it and totally WOW your friends. As long as you feel good about your work, then you are an artist.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

