Tumble over Umble in a Zentangle challenge

“Look up at the stars and not down at your feet.”~Stephen Hawking, English physicist

Today’s the 4th Tuesday of the month, which means it’s my bi-monthly Tuesday Tangled Lunch. It’s a quiet two hours, which is just fine for me. I had time to focus on preparations for tomorrow night’s Zentangle: By the Sea class and to complete this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #223.

IMG_8846.JPG

Tumbling as I’m Umble-ing in Diva #223

Umble. It’s an interesting tangle combining Crescent Moon’s shape and contrast with Hollibaugh’s criss-cross overlapping technique. Once again, I pulled out a half-completed tile, this one part of a 9-tile Zentangle pre-strung mosaic. It may be more obvious where the pre-Umble tangles are, but it’s the one I’m working on, regardless.

Umble is designed to work in a square space, starting from each of four corners. None of that here, so that’s a challenge right there. With a little tweaking, I turned it into something quite satisfying in a strange rectangular-triangular space. I’m purposely leaving the one space blank because I want to see how it looks when the mosaic is complete. Will it look as stark as now?

I can’t wait to find out.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne Marie
    Jun 26, 2015 @ 02:12:50

    I like this tile, like the white spot in it. Well done.

    Reply

  2. HeidiSue
    Jun 26, 2015 @ 11:21:14

    Your umble works very well indeed, in that wonky quadrangle…is that really a word?…and I really like the curly pattern you have there, too. good contrast

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jun 27, 2015 @ 13:40:55

      Well, “wonky” is a word, one that’s been used to describe my Mooka tangles (something I warmly embrace). I’m unsure how to define that space, really, it is bizarre and wonky, but I’m pleased you like my result and the contrast. Thank you!

      Reply

  3. Sue Sharp CZT12
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 07:49:04

    Nicely done! I admire how you’ve been able to keep the Umble bands so even! I like the open space – it gives the eye a “rest” as it travels from one section to the next.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

