Do you challenge yourself enough?

“Things do not happen; things are made to happen.”~John F. Kennedy, American president

I’m enjoying these Haiku Horizons weekly challenges.

Challenges. That’s an interesting word, an interesting concept.

IMG_8903.JPG

Haiku Horizons #70: tear…or is it tear?

I participate in the Diva weekly Zentangle Challenge, this haiku challenge, the still-past-posting AtoZ Blog Challenge, NaNoWriMo in Novembers and probably some more. Why do we “challenge” ourselves? Why do we freely that we need a challenge to be productive? I think it’s the accountability.

We can use any excuse to not do something and be quite creative with that. “I can’t exercise because it’s a new moon.” “I can’t write my story because I chipped a nail.”

Why do we do that to ourselves? Why do we set ourselves up for failure? That’s what a challenge implies, doesn’t it?

The best definition I found with a quick online search is from Cambridge Dictionaries website: “something needing great mental or physical effort in order to be done successfully, or the situation of facing this kind of effort.” I love that.

IMG_8875.JPG

Zen By the Sea student shells and stones

I taught my Zentangle By the Sea class last night. Students learned the basics of Zentangle first on a piece of paper, and then applied those techniques by tangling on seashells and rocks. I found it challenging to provide class examples; the surfaces are uneven, bumpily, smooth and then scratchy. Still, I had to do that to show my students that it can be done, that I did it, that anyone can do it and then go for it.
.
.
The students’ work was quite impressive. Any work always is when we face a challenge head on. What challenge will you face today?

IMG_8868.JPG

How I met my challenge with my class examples

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

