A #WeekendCoffeeShare where I talk about #ROW80

“I seldom end up where I wanted to go, but I almost always end up where I need to be.”~Douglas Adams, English writer

If we were having coffee, I would first apologize for the hashtags. I dislike blog post titles that use hashtags as a lazy self-promo tool. Take the time to post any blog thoughts separately under different, meaningful titles. Really, make the effort here. However, my ROW80 goals are what I’m dealing with this weekend, so I feel it appropriate.

If we were having coffee, we’d be in Starbucks in Northville. It’s warm-ish in here today. My husband’s across from us, and he’s doing some work, so we have time to chat. I’d tell you that my first full week with ROW80 was pathetic.

GOAL: Write/edit DadMemoir 3-4 days a week, 2-3 hours each time ideal.
RESULT: –I spent last Monday afternoon writing for about 2 hours before a friend met me for coffee. That was my most productive and fulfilling day, especially since it ended with the newest episode of Major Crimes.
–I did write for 3 hours on Friday afternoon, but not on the memoir. Does that count?

GOAL: Print a new draft every Thursday morning.
RESULT: Nope. Didn’t happen, not even came close. I do need significant time to type in my current edits, so I need to figure that into my schedule. I expect this week I’ll make that happen.

GOAL: Find an editor for DadMemoir.
RESULT: –I spoke to another memoirist at the Motown Writer’s Network group. She said she had a good editor, so I need to follow up with her about that contact.
–I did open Fiverr and wandered through the listings. I got distracted by other stuff on the site, so I accomplished nothing else.

GOAL: Crowdfunding for Alaska NFPW Conference.
RESULT: Nope. I explored the website and noted what worked for me regarding description length, catchy titles, photos, videos…and spent wayyyyyy too much time working on a draft that’s not even typed up yet.

GOAL: Glasses by Alaska.
RESULT: Nope again, but I’m squinting more in the sun, so that’s about to kick my butt into gear.

ONGOING CHALLENGE: Keep up with my social media.
RESULT: blah. This is work, a To-Do list, and it does not make me happy. I refer mostly to Facebook here.

UN-GOAL: I want to do some fun writing.
RESULT: This week, my choice will be updating my About Me page. Yes, writing about myself is fun!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that, at that point in my woes, I scheduled into my calendar “Reserve for writing time” on Monday afternoons between my work shifts. And just now, I scheduled a similar time for Fridays every week. I now have a dedicated Do-Not-Disturb-Me-Writing-Time right there, blocked off. It’s flexible, of course, for any emergencies that pop up, but it’s there, obvious, glaring in my face, shining from my phone.

I feel power-full.

So this week’s goals are, in order:
1–Crowdfund.
Everything else can be done while this runs in the background. Stop fussing and just put something out there! Now!
2–Eye appt.
Just call. Just do it. Find out what I need to do and schedule it. Glasses take time to make, and I want at least my sunglasses to wear to Alaska.
3–Print out DadMemoir.7 by Thursday.
See: a date/day deadline. I need that focus.
4–Look at two editor options.
I will dedicate some time to look at Fiverr and contact someone(s) to take the next step. I will get in touch with that MWN member, and maybe even another member.
5 and beyond…
The other stuff.

If we were having coffee, I’d thank you. You’re awesome for this support and encouragement, even just for listening. Let’s grab a free refill of coffee, and I’ll share a slice of banana nut loaf with you.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Jul 26, 2015 @ 12:37:47

    That’s a lot going on! I haven’t tried ROW80, though I’ve seen lots of people participating. It just seems like the kind of thing I can’t really commit to right now, but I might one day. Good luck with it—I’m sure you’ll be able to catch up if you want!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

