The post-wedding #WeekendCoffeeShare Sunday

“Work hard for what you want because it won’t come without a fight.”~Leah LaBelle, Canadian musician

If we were having coffee, it’s a quiet day and we may have stepped out for a bit. My rarely-gets-sick husband is not feeling well. It’s nothing contagious, but still…I’m concerned.

He was out of town on business last week and may just be worn down. I understand that. After last Sunday’s wedding, the heat and the long drive, I was pretty much a lump for a day. But it was worth it. I haven’t seen my friend since THON and it was fun dancing with her again. This time, however, I got to sit down throughout the night.

I made a little adventure out of it. I scoped out a local coffeeshop and decided to write before the drive home. I passed a covered bridge along the way and drove through it a few times just because I could. It seemed the thing to do whenever you pass a covered bridge. I knew I back on the East Coast–yes, I consider mid-Pennsylvania East Coast–when I saw this, and when I passed a diner with Diner in the name. Here in Michigan, everything is called a “Coney” restaurant. As you would imagine, chili dogs are the signature dish everywhere, and those are supplemented by normal diner food. But they’re not diners; that’s a distinction for another post because I’ve gotten way off topic.

Back to that coffeeshop, HeBrews. Local-baked pastries. Pour-over coffee in for-here mugs. High-top tables with two separate cozy rooms. I sat down with my journal, but after 25 minutes or so, I put then pen down. I couldn’t write. I just had to Be. Okay, I shared a few pictures to my Instagram feed and I texted a short 360-degree video to my husband. After that, I sat there, a stone with the perfect seat, staring out the window and over my shoulder at the coffee bar. It was too peaceful to write. I watched cars drive by on the main street outside, the people walking by on their lunch break, and the regulars in the coffee shop getting “the usual.” Two women joined me in my spacious room, a mother-daughter afternoon outing sitting in the corner. I couldn’t hear what they said, but I commented on the girl’s pants on her way out: light and flowy, what I thought was a skirt, made better as unexpected pants.

It’s been so long since I’ve done that–just sit–and I wish you could have been there. We would be together without saying a word.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhio
    Aug 30, 2015 @ 17:48:40

    That sounds amazing! I love just sitting out of the window watching, it’s why trains are my favourite form of transportation.

    Reply

  2. Diana
    Aug 30, 2015 @ 21:21:11

    Sometimes people-watching is the best remedy for a stressful time. Hope your husband is feeling better soon!

    Reply

  3. sheryl kay oder
    Aug 30, 2015 @ 23:27:35

    Hey, tell your hubby to care for himself. If he doesn’t get better soon this gal who hates to nag says nag him to go to the doctor.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

