One word describes my #ROW80 midweek checkin

“Happiness depends on ourselves.”~Aristotle, Greek philosopher

I’ll admit, I’ve been feeling guilty about not #ROW-ing down the river. Figuratively, of course; I neither own a boat nor would I take it out in this cold weather if I did.

So let’s do something about that, I scolded myself. Gently scolding, as I am fragile some days.

1–EMAIL CLIENT:
I found my old gmail email address. That’s not a bad step. I even wrote that down so I remember it. Now I hope I remember not to throw away that piece of paper.

2–DAD’S MEMOIR:
I want to finish the tutorial, but haven’t yet. That’s exhausting, but I want to know the skeleton bones of it all before using it on a real WIP. If that’s accomplished by end of November, I’m cool with that.

IMG_5108.PNG

That’s right; it’s all about ME!

3–CATCH UP OLD BLOG POSTS
Not yet, but I have been doing something exciting: writing current blog posts. That is energizing, to write without expectation or as part of a To-Do list. I will have to address that To-Do stuff, but for now, I’m keeping up. Wow! That is freeing! Maybe the motivation to do what I insist on myself I gotta do.

4–SCHEDULE SOCIAL MEDIA TIME
Nah. My work schedule has shifted, so I’m now rearranging my time. That schedule change, however, has provided me with another afternoon I “Reserve for writing time!” I added emoji here to make it more approachable and friendly.
.
.
5–NEW BLOGSITES AND FOLLOWERS AND WHATNOT
I have no idea how I want to proceed with this.

6–UPDATE MY AUTHOR SITES
Today I played on my blog. I deleted some stuff on my Zentangle page; that needs a serious editing. I began revising my About Me page, but since it’s not complete, my page look half-naked. Any ideas for what you like? Do? Would want to see?

IMG_5112.JPG

First step to success: make your work atmosphere fun

7–WRITE BOOKS
I’ve been thinking…maybe use NaNoWriMo time for this…?? That’s not the “official” approach of event, but 50K words is 50K words.

8–SEEK OUT NEW IN-PRINT WRITING VENUES
Nope. Not a thought in the wind.

9–PRINT OUT THIS LIST
YES!! Finally! And I’m marking up that list like a book’s rough draft. Today’s color: pink ink.

So it goes: success, no success. All progress.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine Nabity
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 11:13:41

    Re: #3 – Sometimes, when I get waaay behind, especially on blog-related stuff, I decide that some things are so far in the rearview mirror that it’s unlikely that I’m ever going to get to them. And I let those things go and, dang, that’s a great feeling!

    Re: #7 – There are lots of NaNo “rebels”! I’m quietly going to take a shot at writing some short stories. If NaNoWriMo gets you going, use it!

    Good luck & good writing!

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Oct 29, 2015 @ 13:25:13

      Yeah, #3 is my struggle There’s this stubborn sense to finish certain things from this year, and know better for the future. There’s also this sense of letting go…and that’s why #3 exists on my list. :) Thanks.

      Reply

  2. Pleasant Street
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 11:51:33

    I see my comment is popular, I was also going to say that I understood number 3, and it stood out from the rest. I totally get that! Allbest in your goals and non-goals and yes! Nano is a great jumping off point. Do it!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

