Give in to your imperfections

“We know what we are, but know not what we may be.”~William Shakespeare, English dramatist

Today, and all of this week, I embrace my addictions.

No, not those addictions. Whatever you were thinking of, you’re probably wrong.

I’m talking social media here.

As part of my long-term plan to maintain a blogging/social media/life schedule, I find myself falling behind in social interaction. In the struggle to make time to write, I ignore email. As I catch up on Twitter feeds, I don’t write. Editing a photo for Instagram is not editing my stories. Posting to Pinterest produces nothing written.  Don’t even get me started on Facebook.   It’s a cycle hard to break. I mean, once you’re drowning in a sea of ignored Likes, Friends and Comments, how do you surface a sane human being?

That’s where my Grand Experiment begins.

IMG_8162.PNG

Begone, red bubbles of death!

People suggest that the only way to be productive is to set aside time each day to answer emails, post on Facebook, reply to comments and all that stuff so that you have solid chunks of uninterrupted writing time. I find myself stressing more about the un-social media atmosphere I create rather than capturing my awesome cool words on paper/keyboard.

By tonight, I will have “caught up” on everything I’ve lagged behind of. I’ll be up-to-date, a clean slate, ready for the barrage of people adoring me. And I am going to answer those texts and Tweets and Likes–immediately. I will interrupt my writing to reply. I’ll stop what I’m doing–as much as is legal and comfortable, depending on my location–and get rid of that bold red notification bubble above my phone’s app.

Conventional wisdom and advice says that getting off track will be distracting. But I am not a conventional woman.

Will this “distraction” make me more productive? I’ll know in a week, maybe sooner. Is this something you have tried? Share your thoughts below, and any tips you have. I’m open to it all…and I’ll reply lickety-split to your comments.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Magaly Guerrero
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 17:44:27

    I’m a scheduler. Since my life is completely ruled by the demands of my health–I need to eat at specific times, exercise for an specific time every day, save time for my doctors–I schedule everything around those things.

    I will start with Instagram, since you and I met that way (hope we see each other on blogland, too, now that I found you… again). :) Anyway, I delight on Instagram first thing in the morning or before bed. I glance at it while I’m preparing meals–I have to cook everything fresh because of stomach issues, so cooking has turned into my breaks from writing. I also check Facebook while I’m waiting for the yum to be done. I’m a Twitter delinquent. I blog a couple of times a week and reply to blog messages, emails, and other social media messages first thing in the morning while I’m cooking my steel cut oats, and check them again before bed.

    There are times, like right now, that I’m waiting to see my doctor… I use this time to answer emails, to plot, to proofread, to do quick edits…

    The biggest thing for me has always been to schedule time for uninterrupted writing. And like I said before this usually comes first thing in the morning, after I’m done cooking and eating.

    Oh, and I time my breaks (if a writing session goes for too long and I have to stretch or relax my head). If I don’t time them, I end up binging on social media… like everyone else, lol!

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Jan 13, 2016 @ 14:04:15

      I’m a timer, too. In 23-minute chunks, I discover if I need–or want, or can–continue my task. Without a timer, time slips by so easily.

      For me lately, setting aside “time” has put me behind in many of my To-Dos. Why? Because I don’t find or make the time. For now, a snap reply and deal-with-it-so-it-doesn’t-linger attitude may just help.

      I’m embracing scheduling for 2016 in my new Happy Planner. Playing with paper and words: yowza perfection! But for social media, trying to be social shouldn’t be a catchup game. Sounds like you’ve got it goin’ on.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

