Do you need a haiku and a smile? Read on….

“Develop success from failures.”~Dale Carnegie, American writer

SPEND is the theme for the centennial edition of Haiku Horizons. Besides my haiku, what have I been spending my time on?

I’m spending my time smiling with all the opportunities I have right now.

IMG_8341.JPG

Haiku Horizons #100: “Spend”

SOCIAL MEDIA
I’m catching up on old Likes and Favorites and Comments and all that warm-and-fuzzy-people-are-noticing-me stuff. There are folks there I would call my friends (but not a Facebook “Friend”) because we interact on a personal level. I like seeing their names in my Instagram Likes or my Retweet notifications.

WRITING
I have time to write, solid chunks of hours at a time to write, and I know how fortunate I am for that luxury. I have not spent time on my memoir lately because I think I needed a break. I have been working on Socks, which makes me all sorts of smiley. It’s a NaNoWriMo story I’m actually doing something with and it’s exciting to work on.

I wrote a letter to a friend. She didn’t write back, but that’s not the point. I’m sending a haiku postcard to another friend tonight. Writing can be joyful for others, too.

READING
Kinda. I have a YA old favorite to revisit and blog sites to also revisit. And I’m scheduling time to read, an act I haven’t done in a long, long time.

IMG_8355.JPG

BLOGGING
I’m mostly back to my regular posting schedule. I have found joy again because I have planned. My Happy Planner is full of pink sticky notes, purple and blue ink pen scribbles, vintage flavored scrapbook paper and sparkly washi tape. Scheduling my posts and ideas is a delight-filled rainbow. I’m becoming organized, which removes my stress from those “what do I do next?” thoughts.

I’ve started a new blog series over at my Deadwood Writers Voices: coffee shops. Writing in silence freezes my brain and freaks me out, so I often choose the hum of people and espresso machines over the radio or streaming music stations at home. Because coffeeshops are so much a part of my life, I feel the need to express all the quirky experiences and deep discussions with others. Hop on over and read the inaugural post: Playing Games.

IMG_8350.JPG

Socks and coffee and paper, oh my!

I’m delving into the world of Blog Hops. These themed sites offer a prompt or a theme to write about and then share on a weekly or monthly master list. That’s where I discovered Haiku Horizons. That’s how I just discovered The Weekly Smile.

I’m jumping in on week two, and all of the above makes me smile. Or this short list here:
–A kiss on the nose from my husband.
–New, bright-colored argyle socks from my husband. He thought of me on a business trip.
–Buying a cup of coffee for a stranger first thing Monday morning.
–Employees in two food places welcoming me with “Hi, how are you?”

IMG_8367.JPG

Share your happy smiles below, because we can never spend too much time smiling.

Or own too many funky socks.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Archana Kapoor
    Jan 19, 2016 @ 12:49:57

    absolutely well spent :-)

    Reply

  2. milan rajkumar
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 05:10:13

    A day not wasted in vain ! Wow !

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

