Today is about the choices you make

“People may hear your words, but they feel your attitude.”~John C. Maxwell, American clergyman

It’s little things that change your day and alter your mood.

It was a crazy day at work in the morning. I mean, weird crazy busy. I was a bit cranky because of that and rescheduling doctor appointments and then having my “regular” table at Starbucks occupied.

I was settling into the less-than-perfect table when the guy next to me waves at me and points. He wears an orange knit cap and bright orange t-shirt, jamming to some music he was listening to. He pulled his headphones off to say that he liked my socks. “Those are cool socks,” he said, grinning and nodding his head in respect for someone who is funky enough to wear multi-colored plaid socks. At least that’s what I like to think. Day brightened!

IMG_8535.PNG

Goodbye January. Hello Month 2!

That’s a good thing because I am still torn from last night’s contest entries in the Specialty Craft Articles and Personal Blog categories. Dare I say, I write too well to choose just two entries each? That is a darn good problem to have.

I am a writer. I say that with no shame. Yes, I am a talented writer. Ditto, no shame. I embrace my creative work and know that even if I don’t place in the contest that I have still won.

How different my writing is today compared to a year ago. I didn’t realize the changes until I scrolled through every blog post of mine looking for something award-worthy. I promote my books less and my share my experiences more. I give advice, I discuss my struggles, I open up to my passions and I have fresh funness with everything. Part of that comes from refocusing my life and my blog accordingly. Not to get all transcendental on you, I realized that Zentangle was distracting me from writing. I needed to step back and focus on my forever passion: writing.

What do I like about my writing? My blog, I appreciate the variety of topics I choose, the events I participate in, the knowledge I share. Of my articles, I enjoy the tight writing I do, weaving creative words and phrases into the text as if they were always meant to be there. I’m fortunate to have a community of supportive blog readers–that’s you!–and a thoughtful, trusting editor.

Even here, now, it’s hard to still grasp how important these changes are for me. But last night, as I weaved through the blogposts and flipped through magazines, I was impressed with my work, more than I expected. I’m exploring these thoughts over the next couple of days, and I hope you will grasp some strength and perspective from me to apply to your own self.

Today, just compliment someone’s socks or shoes or purse or watch or coat or hairstyle. You have the power to make them smile.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wendijowrites
    Feb 01, 2016 @ 14:45:22

    I love the quotes you’re finding and using to start your posts with. Especially this one. Write on, sister!

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Feb 01, 2016 @ 15:35:08

      Thanks! I used to use random quotes that spoke to me. Now I’m listening to the quotes that my blogposts find inspiring (and relevant–my blog is persnickety like that). I intend to keep writing on…and on…and on…!

      Reply

  2. sheryl kay oder
    Feb 01, 2016 @ 14:55:29

    I sent you a quick e-mail. Yes, life is about our choices.

    Reply

  3. Beth Camp
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 11:51:13

    That title invited me right into your blog post! Something as simple as crazy socks can transform a day into something memorable — even in our writing. And your essential message that steady work on our goals transforms us in unexpected ways fits right in. I too love crazy socks, have a schedule that sometimes looks like bedlam, but find writing my anchor every day. May you have a good week.

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Feb 08, 2016 @ 11:58:46

      You, too! Keeping focused on days that blow your mind is a gift you give yourself. Sounds like you’ve got that solid. Sheldon from Big Bang Theory said it best: whimsy.

      Reply

  4. alberta
    Feb 05, 2016 @ 17:42:44

    I like to mention some random thing about strangers, makes my day to get a smile in return,
    great post thanks:)

    Reply

  5. vivalabooklife
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 16:22:39

    what a great post! its the little things that can brighten anyones day!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

