Crazy little thing called…

Love.

Smallish details seems to be this month’s blog theme because here I go again.

There’s a blog party over at Suzie Speaks with the theme of love.

Who doesn’t love a good party? Given the theme, how could I not participate? I thought of the specific details of “what is love?” to me and I came up with one word:

IMG_8852.JPG

Receipts.

Specifically, meal receipts.

Early on when my husband and I were dating, he took the itemized receipt after some dinner out and wrote a note on it, something commemorating the event or location. I probably blushed, smiled for so many reasons and cooed “thank you” to this charming, sentimental man who was not my own (yet). Whatever my reaction was, it was enough for him to do it the next time out. He hasn’t stopped since.

IMG_8856.JPG

I adore it.

It’s a tradition now, almost expected and yet not.

What makes a meal receipt-worthy? The event. The location. The food. The memory. There was something significant and not commonplace about eating there at that time, and he captures that. I’m not allowed to write them; he does that.

Except one time when I took him out for his birthday. That was my receipt responsibility; he couldn’t write on his own birthday. That was my treat.

IMG_8854.JPG

My first arrow heart I Love You just yesterday

The notations evolve over the years. There are flags for sporting events, birthday hats, holiday hearts, even a diamond ring for one wedding anniversary. The excitement is discovering what new sentiment he’ll scribble down. He never fails to delight me.

Such a little thing. Such a big deal.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. roweeee
    Feb 15, 2016 @ 04:21:09

    How beautiful. I’m a very sentimental person and I also appreciate a bit of originality. I was curious how the meal receipts were going to enter the equation.
    He is definitely a keeper!
    xx Rowena

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Feb 15, 2016 @ 15:02:44

      Awwwwww…Thank you Rowena . He certainly is a keeper–from our first Valentine’s Day when he bought me Godiva chocolates. I’m glad you enjoy his whimsy as much as I do. the little things do add up, don’t they? I hope you have a lot of that in your life to enjoy, too. :)

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

