The fun #AtoZChallenge 2016 Theme Reveal

“Do or Do Not; there is no Try”~Yoda, Jedi Master

It’s the first day after the first day of Spring. That means it’s the end of March. That means bloggers around the world unite in mass hysteria for the phenomenon:

Blogging from A to Z Challenge

.
Every April, participating bloggers write daily posts–except on Sundays–that correspond to that day’s letter of the alphabet.
AtoZ-BlogChallenge-2016-AprilBadgeApril 1 is for the letter A, the first letter; April 2 is the letter B; April 3…well, you get the idea. The topic is anything you want, or nothing at all. Bloggers will pre-write and schedule posts so they can better blog hop while others just write on a whim each day. Photos, recipes, favorite books, villains, teddy bears…you name it, and the theme is probably there. It’s November’s NaNoWriMo for bloggers.

Last year was my first time participating, and it was quite a flop. I only completed half the month’s worth of posts because I created a theme that just exploded into a delicious mess of complications. My theme “26 Ways to Procrastinate a Writer” was designed to be a humorous look at the ways we writers procrastinate, and how we allow others to enable us in distractions. What started out as short tips led to longer, detailed explorations. Then Jayne came in. She was my flash fiction to show by example what the distraction can do to a writer. Her life developed in a soap opera.

See? Complicated. Way too much for this talent-yet-unplanned writer. My April 2, 2015 post should have been “B is for…Blogging from A to Z” because I buried myself in expectations.

AtoZ-BlogChallenge-2016-ThemeReveal

This year, I’m keeping it simple–simpler, at least–with:
Alphabet Haiku

.
The idea did not spring forth because April is National Poetry month, although that’s a nice happenstance. This theme came from a haiku challenge I had started on a now-defunct (?) social app community called Heyku. Later renamed Ku, my app stopped working, and I haven’t confirmed its non-existence on Facebook, since FB is the only place people actually communicate with others. Anyway, I did an alphabet challenge where every word of a haiku began with the same letter. I almost reached the end–“W” for werewolves never posted on the app site–but I never got to Z. Old photos on my phone reminded me of this, and it seemed like a good thing to revisit.

I will NOT reuse any of those old haikus. That’s part of my challenge. I may mix it up a bit: all words begin with the same letter, end with the same letter, rhyme somehow…I’m not sure how things will shake up.

If you followed last year’s adventures, I will also be finishing up those Procrastination posts of Jayne and her Writeself. They’ve been a weight hanging over me, one I cannot let go of. I need to finish them. Knowing that many of them are mostly-written makes me feel somewhat positive about completing. Again, I’m not sure how things will shake up; as my husband says with annoying regularity: “We’ll see.”

If you want to see what other bloggers are doing, check out the Theme Reveal here. As of this post, there’s almost 500 bloggers participating.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 00:59:59

    I think it is always great to keep the theme and the posts simple through A/Z. It is a whirlwind adventure as you discovered last year. Seems like you hit on a good theme for this year! have fun with the challenge!

    betty

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Mar 24, 2016 @ 16:07:14

      Yeah, I’m looking forward to this year, not only for the fresh challenge but also for the commitment to finally finish those older posts and feel “complete.” I’ll also have more time to bloghop, which adds to the fun.

      Reply

  2. Michelle Wallace
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 04:35:49

    Short and sweet – a winning combination!
    I love haikus. :)

    I’m showcasing blogger books & book reviews…plus there will be loads of giveaways!
    See you around on the A to Z circuit!
    Writer In Transit

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Mar 24, 2016 @ 16:09:33

      That’s why I love haikus, too: short and checkbox-quick. And then you get into it and coax the words and syllables…but that’s the beauty and challenge and fun. Silly me; I like editing my work more than the initial writing. I prefer to have a base (rough draft) to work with, and syllable/theme count as that.

      Reply

  3. Le Belletrist
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 05:30:48

    I love Haikus, Looking forward to your posts :)

    Reply

  4. carol
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 12:23:03

    Haikus can be a lot of fun. Have a great April!

    Reply

  5. inGeniousty
    Mar 26, 2016 @ 11:53:19

    I hope to read all your blogposts soon. You have a good theme lined up for April. :D
    The Solitary Writer – A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal

    Reply

  6. Melissa
    Mar 26, 2016 @ 21:19:02

    I have no idea what a haikus is, but I am excited to read along and find out. This is my first challenge, I am soo excited!

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Mar 27, 2016 @ 22:02:06

      Oh, I am so excited to have you come along on this romp. I so want to tell you what a haiku is, but I’ll keep the suspense until Friday. Do come back and let me know what you think! :)

      Reply

  7. Nilanjana Bose
    Mar 27, 2016 @ 07:42:23

    Great choice. Apt for national poetry month and short and sweet for the A-Z. Wish you much success.

    Nilanjana.
    Ninja Minion, A-Z 2016
    Madly-in-Verse

    Reply

    • D.W. Hirsch
      Mar 27, 2016 @ 21:45:15

      Thank you, thank you. Pure happenstance with the theme until I was in Deep Thought over it all. (“clever,” she says, patting herself on the back) I’m striving to make this year more successful than last year.

      Reply

  8. Soumya Prasad
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 09:47:02

    Alphabet haiku is such a lovely theme!

    I see that you have put up the A to Z badge on your post instead of your blog. Can you please have the badge on your blog side bar instead?

    Thank you!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

