Blurred Lines or Word Crimes?

I was all set to write a blog past about love and coffee, but my Deadwood Writers Group got unusually chatty with e-mails and links to cool writing stuff. In the fluster, I almost missed this one that links to, as one of the members commented, “Schoolhouse Rock for the 21st Century.”

I like the song “Blurred Lines” by Robin Thicke. I don’t necessarily support the video images, but the song has a strong, catchy beat. Let’s leave it at that.

“Blurred Lines” video on YouTube  (NOTE: even though this video is what I consider the PG-13 version, it may not be suitable for all audiences)

Enter “Weird Al” Yankovic’s parody of that song, “Word Crimes.” “Weird Al” has been a favorite of mine since childhood, and knowing the original “Blurred Lines” video, the Yankovic video is a hoot! I laughed so hard I cried–literally!–because it appeals to the writer in me and the blog editor I’ve become. Seriously, incorporating the balloon element at the end is deliciously brilliant.

“Word Crimes” video on YouTube  (NOTE: this video is suitable for all ages, especially 4 those frustrated by 2days gramr cre8ed from txts)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Do you remember your first time? A momentous #TBT | D.W. Hirsch

Care to share your thoughts?